DSM-320 hanging on playback of second MP4 (v4.3)

D-Link specific stuff goes here
Post Reply
ronster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:11 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Asus M5A97 / Phenom II X6 1045T
OS: Linux Mint 17.3 64-bit
Twonkyserver 8.2

Media Clients: WDTV Live; PlugPlayer for iOS; Foobar2000 w/UPnP Browser.
Location: Canada

DSM-320 hanging on playback of second MP4 (v4.3)

Post by ronster » Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:44 pm

Hello,

I have Twonkymedia 4.3 set up on an A7N8X-X, 512 meg ram CentOS 5 / software RAID 5 setup, feeding two wired DSM-320's over my home network

I have no issue playing MP3's so far, however if I play two (Nero recode) video MP4's back to back, the playback of the second file will hang the device. Hanging on the second file starts within 2 to 5 seconds of play with the audio breaking up, followed by video, then the DSM-320 goes to black screen. Killing the power is the only way to reset control to the DLink devices following the crash.

This behavior never occurred using the DLink media software.

The crashing appears like if it is a buffering issue. I've tried adjusting the buffer size within twonkymedia setup with no change in behavior

Any ideas or suggestions that can resolve this problem?

thank you in advance for your help.

ogre_x
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 7:12 am
AV Hardware: ClearOS 5.1 Linux server (4.4.18)
ClearOS 5.1 Linux server (5.1.3)
PS3
HDX-HD1000
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by ogre_x » Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:12 pm

Sorry, I can't say any more than that this problem got introduced in february (4.2beta4) and they still haven't got a clue what's causing it. I'm getting really tired of repeating my bug report for every new release.

http://twonkyvision.com/mantis/view.php?id=1493

So for the moment Twonky is useless for streaming video from Linux to a DSM-320.

OldDogNewTricks
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:01 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by OldDogNewTricks » Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:08 pm

I am having the same problem.

I just bought the QNAP TS-201 2 days ago, and like a fool I updated the firmware to get the latest version of Twonkyvision, (V4.3).

Still, if the problem was in the 4.2 beta, I would still have had the issue because it came with V4.2.

Anyone know how to install a back level TwonkyVison on these things?
Paul ....

DSM-320
QNAP TS-201 (2x Seagate 500GB) Raid -1

.... and a bunch of other stuff!

User avatar
twonky-christian
Lynx Technology Staff
Posts: 1123
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:16 pm
AV Hardware: PC
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by twonky-christian » Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:50 pm


Post Reply