Times Displayed Wrong

D-Link specific stuff goes here
Post Reply
Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Times Displayed Wrong

Post by Shockmaindave » Sun Dec 30, 2007 4:03 pm

Hello,
I've got a DSM-320. It's displaying a lot of my songs' times as 3:20.
I've looked at Twonky's database and seen the times are correct there.
I can't find any connection between encoders or bitrates.
Has anyone else experienced this or know a fix?
Thanks-
Dave

johnnyt
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 4:25 pm

Post by johnnyt » Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:03 am

Yes, it does on mine as well and this is one of a few new bugs (such as no more "Album" option on custom menus) introduced in the last release. Hopefully Christian can fix these soon (especially before work ceases on the NAS versions).

It seems we wait patiently for something to get fixed, only to have something else that was working perfectly be broken on new releases. Welcome to the frustrating world of Twonky.

Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Introduced on the last release

Post by Shockmaindave » Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:30 am

I don't think this is a new problem. I've been using TV since back in the 1.0 days and this behavior has gone on for me for all of that time. There may have been one version that worked properly.

I haven't asked to have it fixed sooner because it's really not that big a deal. It's a little thing in the middle of an otherwise good program. It just seems that with all the attention being paid to the PS3, it was time to ask.

Still, it's nice to know that the problem exists somewhere else and not just on my own machine. Maybe now I'll stop trying to fiddle around with it to fix it.

corny
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:18 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Post by corny » Wed Jan 02, 2008 9:24 am

Indeed it's not a new problem. However, it is not only a cosmetic bug. When the elapsed time passes 3:20 minutes, my experience is that the song has bo be played completely before it is possible to navigate again. Forward and rewind are not working in this case.
Regards,
Cornelis

ronster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:11 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Asus M5A97 / Phenom II X6 1045T
OS: Linux Mint 17.3 64-bit
Twonkyserver 8.2

Media Clients: WDTV Live; PlugPlayer for iOS; Foobar2000 w/UPnP Browser.
Location: Canada

3:20 min displayed when Lame VBR is used

Post by ronster » Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:19 pm

Most of my music was encoded to MP3 using Lame 3.96 & 3.97 set to ABR @ 224 kbps. I had no display problems with these files.

I recently started encoding mp3's files using the "new" VBR default with Lame 3.97; 3.98b6, and noticed the 3:20 min displayed. I am not sure if this is a DSM firmware issue or a Twonky isssue, but while it does not seem to affect MP3 playback (have not tried rew/ff searching), it is rather annoying to see incorrect times displayed when these new files are played...

Ron

ronster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:11 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Asus M5A97 / Phenom II X6 1045T
OS: Linux Mint 17.3 64-bit
Twonkyserver 8.2

Media Clients: WDTV Live; PlugPlayer for iOS; Foobar2000 w/UPnP Browser.
Location: Canada

Embedded Images (ex. Album covers to tag)

Post by ronster » Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:44 pm

Update: At first I thought it had to do with the new VBR using lame encoder. When some newer CBR mp3's had the same problem, I then realized a pattern. At the time I started using the VBR with lame, I also started image tagging my tracks, so the covers appeared on screen for my iPod

Check to see if the problem files Listing "3:20" have images or album covers tagged / embedded to the files. This seems to be the cause...

Where the problem lies is the next determination...

Ron

Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Song Lengths

Post by Shockmaindave » Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:12 pm

Ronster,
I've taken a look at my bitrates and encoders, and there doesn't seem to be any connection between them and the displayed time on the DSM-320.

I have even found that for songs that have the incorrect times displayed, they are listed at the correct lengths in the database.

I can't figure it out and hope someone else out there can. It doesn't seem link D-Link is going to do it for us.

ronster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:11 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Asus M5A97 / Phenom II X6 1045T
OS: Linux Mint 17.3 64-bit
Twonkyserver 8.2

Media Clients: WDTV Live; PlugPlayer for iOS; Foobar2000 w/UPnP Browser.
Location: Canada

Images Embedded in ID3 tags

Post by ronster » Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:47 pm

Sorry Shockmaindave, I rushed out my last answer, and it was not clear.

I quickly discovered bitrate was not the problem. Don't bother with that. As you point out, everywhere else the file time is recorded correctly. I found other devices and software also process the file lenghts correctly.

Image tagging to ID3 information is what seems to confuse the DSM-320. Both iTunes and Mediamonkey allow for image tagging (embedding jpg's of album covers, photos, etc) to MP3 files. Once an image is embedded to the MP3 tag, and is read by the DSM-320, "3:20" is displayed on screen, as the device is likely confused by the extra image information.

- " It doesn't seem link D-Link is going to do it for us."

You are probably right. They've done little to enhance, or improve the product so I am not holding my breath.

Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Bad News for Times

Post by Shockmaindave » Sun Feb 03, 2008 1:13 pm

Ronster,
I did some more experimenting based on your last post.
I took some files that displayed 3:20 times and removed both their album art and folder.jpg files. (I'm using XP.) They remained showing 3:20.

I then tried getting rid of one variable altogether. I took my Twonky server offline and used TVersity. The problem shows up there as well. Still showing 3:20.

I know folks around here get bothered for mentioning other, competing products. I did this only to get insight into this problem. I am a Twonky user since the 1.x versions and will stay that way.

This would seem to indicate that the problem is at the DLink end, so I'm going to try and find out what I can from that side, which won't be much.

It is nice to have someone else currently interested in this. In the past when I've brought this up, it's really seemed to go nowhere.
S. Dave

Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Still 3:20

Post by Shockmaindave » Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:30 pm

I tried installing the D-Link Media Server. It amazes me that program continues to suck as badly as it did when I first found Twonky as an alternative. I especially like the alphabetized song titles in album list view. It makes one feel like the designers of that software had never listened to a CD in their lives. Thank you Twonky, for being responsive.

Anyway, I'm off topic. Song lengths are still listed as 3:20. I'm going to try and reencode something--I know MP3s are lossy, so FLACnatics don't need to lecture me--and then try D-Link support. I'm sure they'll get right on it.

Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Progress?

Post by Shockmaindave » Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:17 pm

To quote Frank Zappa, take this progress and stick it under a rock:

I've found that if I re-encode mp3s with an up-to-date version of LAME 3.97, the correct times are displayed on the DSM-320.

I've also found that the old tags are not carried over and that it seems impossible to copy at the old bitrate.

Therefore, it's not only slow, it's inconvenient, and files lose quality!

VBRfix does not work at solving this problem.

Are there any better, faster, or easier suggestions out there?

Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Progress!

Post by Shockmaindave » Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:18 pm

I've found that Foobar 2000 can be used to make this times report correctly on the DSM-320. Add mp3s to the library, select them, right-click, and choose "Utils--->Rebuild MP3 stream." Answer yes to the prompt.

It's fairly fast, but the sheer number of files make it take hours....

I don't know what it is rebuilding, but it does remove any album art in the file, so Ronster's original post may be correct. I'll check that by adding some album art onto a fixed file and see if I can break it again.

To save my album art, I used Tag & Rename's Extract file art to folder.jpg feature. Most players can find album artwork in the folder.jpg file.

Shockmaindave
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:20 am
AV Hardware: Windows Vista
2 Playstation 3's
1 Retired DSM-320
Location: Syracuse, NY
Contact:

Re: Progress!

Post by Shockmaindave » Sun Feb 10, 2008 2:00 pm

[quote="Shockmaindave"]
I don't know what it is rebuilding, but it does remove any album art in the file, so Ronster's original post may be correct. [/quote]

Yes, Ronster was right. Adding album art to a working file corrupted the duration tag on the DSM-320, even though it was functioning properly on an iPod and Winamp.

I found when I was done that some of the original tag information was restored by FOOBAR 2000, so I had to go back and clean up after myself a bit. But the problem is fixed. Foobar 2000's right-click Utils-->Repair Data Stream can give you correct times on your DSM-320 again.

I hope this helps more DSM users get the same usefulness from Twonky that I do.

Post Reply