Various Media Servers tested

Discuss Twonky and PS3 here
Cord77
AV Hardware:Windows 2003 Enterprise Server, Drobo 4TB Storage (direct attached). PS3 & Squeezebox clients.
Various Media Servers tested

Post by Cord77 » Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:23 am

Hi guys

I'm new to the PS3, just got a brand new 40giger (now with 320GB in) and upgraded to firmware 2.4 straight away. The main reason to buy it is to play media files in the front room from my Windows 2003 Server. Having researched what the PS3 can play, I went about trying the one piece of software I already had paid for (Nero 8) and found it to be lacking, so I started testing others. Here are my finding, not very exhaustive but enough to get to the conclusion I wanted.

Video Playback

Nero:
Doesn't allow selective file types for library folders (thanks to the very unconfigurable Nero Scout), which is probably my biggest gripe with Nero. All the folder.jpg files in my CD collection end up in my photo collection.
Nero presents a terrible client menu also, no option to traverse folder structures, it just lumps all folders together.
SD playback was OK. Allows Divx but Fast forwarding gives network error 80710736 after a short time.
HD playback was good, but again fast forward gives network error 80711008. Can use "goto position" but its very slow.
Result: Poor (Unsatifactory)

TVersity:
Does allow selective file types for library folders.
Makes the DivX tray icon show when scanning videos, which renders my Server inoperable during that time (it changes the window focus everytime a video is scanned and added to the library).
Has a good client menu with folder structure view option (can't remember if it was this or Simple Center which also mounted CD/DVD drives present on the Windows server into the DLNA menu, but unfortunately this didn't help much since PS3 won't playback DVDs this way).
SD playback was good. Allows DivX and fast forwarding (although quite slow to FF).