PS3 streaming m2ts unsupported error - possible fix

Discuss Twonky and PS3 here
jlally
AV Hardware:ubuntu 8.0.3 server. ps3 for playback
PS3 streaming m2ts unsupported error - possible fix

Post by jlally » Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:25 pm

Hi,

I am using the twonky server with a trial key and hoping to use PS3 I just bought last week to stream some home video in AVCHD. I kept getting the "media unsupported" errors on some files whilst not on others. I searched these forums but found no answers.

I have used Ulead and Pinnacle Studio at various times and versions to make these AVCHD videos. I was wondering if the encoding or different AVCHD profiles had anything to do with this. I am no expert or even claim any knowledge but I do know that all AVCHD files are not the same. There are profiles and even encoding techniques which have to be decoded properly by the player.

After some searching I came across this. http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/621809.

I used tsMuxeR to remux two of the files I had a problem with. I just chose input as m2ts file and output as m2ts and it remuxed the files. Remuxing as I understand it is to take the actual video and audio stream out of the wrapper and recreate another wrapper and put it in the new one. There is no recoding or anything.

I placed the new file in place of the old and then rebuilt the database (not sure if it was needed).

Bingo......... the file was recognised by PS3 and played flawlessly. .............. :D :D

It's worked on two files so far. On the third one I remuxed the file twice and it stuttered badly. I had to go back to the original and remux it just once. I'm not sure what was going on there. So if you try this, keep the originals just incase.

I hope it helps someone or gives clues to experts out there who can explain and maybe give a proper explanation

thanks

Jag

Bugsy1957
AV Hardware:Yamaha RXV2700
PS3,Xbox 360 Elite,
PSP,
Wii,
Slingbox Pro,
Windows home server,
Netgear 8000 DEC