Trying to view any files on PS3

Discuss Twonky and PS3 here
fredrick
AV Hardware:Linksys WRT610N, PS3,DENON 4308
Trying to view any files on PS3

Post by fredrick » Thu Jan 01, 2009 4:23 am

Hi, I have a Linksys WRT610N with a USB NAS and a wired connection to a PS3, I am a little new to this but I'm just wanting to know if there is any special format the drive has to be in to allow the PS3 to see any files as all I can see is the server name and no files, I have been through the configuration on the Twonky vision set-up page on the router and made sure the PS3 is listed in the client list and the sharing folder is selected ok but no files that I have on the drive are visible. I can even stream audio files onto the Nokia N95 which it sees with all the folders no problems at all.. I'm probably just being very daft and missed something obvious... any ideas would be much appreciated.
Thanks

dasaynt
AV Hardware:Twonky NAS 4.4.4
Buffalo LinkStation LS-500GL (have telnet root access)
Sony PS3 (latest firmware, media server enabled)
Linksys WRT-54G Router (DD-WRT Firmware, UPnP enabled for PS3 IP)
'09 MacBook OSX Leopard (Windows XP Pro SP3 via VMware Fusion)

Re: Trying to view any files on PS3

Post by dasaynt » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:22 am

I'm having the same/similar issue. My media server (Twonky NAS 4.4.4) has been working on my PS3 for the last year just fine. Then I was tweaking some settings in my LinkStation's web interface (was trying to get Apple's Time Machine to work with it), put all the settings back to where they were (because Time Machine doesn't work with LinkStation's XFS file system) and later noticed that my PS3 could no longer "see" the media server's files.

I updated to the lastest PS3 firmware, quadruple checked all my settings in Twonky's web interface, rescanned content directories, rebuilt Twonky's database, rebooted everything (Twonky & the NAS) multiple times, disabled & re-enabled media server in PS3, but still doesn't work.