PS3 shows no title available

Discuss Twonky and PS3 here
Post Reply
jasehigh
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:53 pm
AV Hardware: LinkStation Live 500gb
PhilipsSL300i
Philips WAK3300
Philips NP1100
Pure Evoke Flow
Apple iPhone (Plug Player)
PS3

PS3 shows no title available

Post by jasehigh » Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:57 pm

Since upgrading to v4.4.18 of Twonky on my LinStation Live my PS3 does not show any titles! It can detect the media server correctly, but shows no information in Music, Video, or Pictures! Every other device on my network (including a Pure evoke Flow and a philips NP1100) see the library correctly... just not the PS3.

It would seem the PS3 never gets registered in the list of clients for some unknown reason. Does any one have any ideas how I can force the entry into the clients table? Has anyone else had this issue?

Many thanks, Jase.

Shapps
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:07 pm
AV Hardware: PS3 system 3.21
Netgear Wireless
Macbook running Twonky

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by Shapps » Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:11 pm

Hi,

I am having this same problem. Have just upgraded to PS3 3.21 and just bought twonky. PS3 sees the server no problem and all directories and playlists, but when you go into all the directories, No titles available. PLEASE HELP ANYONE...

Cheers,
Shap.

User avatar
mgillespie
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:19 pm
AV Hardware: TwonkyMedia AV UPnP Mediaserver (Marvell Kirkwood ARM Sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze).
2x Noxon V2 audio client
1x PS3 Slim 500GB Audio/Video UPnP client.
1x Sony VGF-CP1 Wireless Photoframe.
Location: UK

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by mgillespie » Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:16 pm

Make sure the client is dectected correctly.

Please also see the troubleshooting stickies about providing full information, as without that you are unlikely to get any responses.

http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3922

Shapps
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:07 pm
AV Hardware: PS3 system 3.21
Netgear Wireless
Macbook running Twonky

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by Shapps » Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:35 am

TwonkyMedia version : Latest downloaded last night
Server hardware : Macbook
Operating System : OSX Leopard
Client(s) and their software version : PS3 version 3.21
Network type (Wired/Wireless) : Wireless

No media is showing. I found this article online and beliee that it is something to do with this as no media i am trying to find on MS server doesn't work anymore either. However with TVersity it does.

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2010/03/ ... /#comments

I don't understand why. Anyone...Anyone...Anyone...

User avatar
mgillespie
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:19 pm
AV Hardware: TwonkyMedia AV UPnP Mediaserver (Marvell Kirkwood ARM Sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze).
2x Noxon V2 audio client
1x PS3 Slim 500GB Audio/Video UPnP client.
1x Sony VGF-CP1 Wireless Photoframe.
Location: UK

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by mgillespie » Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:46 am

Do you connect through a router? Have a look in the settings see if there is anything to do with broadcasting or UPnP.

It's unlikely to have anything to do with firmware 3.21, it's working just fine with that on my PS3.

Do you see the files in the web interface MediaBrowser?

Shapps
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:07 pm
AV Hardware: PS3 system 3.21
Netgear Wireless
Macbook running Twonky

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by Shapps » Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:40 am

Yep Upnp is definitely enabled in my router.
I can see and play media through the web interface.

Shapps
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:07 pm
AV Hardware: PS3 system 3.21
Netgear Wireless
Macbook running Twonky

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by Shapps » Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:53 am

I have tried changing the directory paths, adding media in different places. It always picks up the value of the directory but never any content of any type whatsoever in those folders by they images, music or video. I'm getting so frustrated with this as i paid for this software.

User avatar
mgillespie
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:19 pm
AV Hardware: TwonkyMedia AV UPnP Mediaserver (Marvell Kirkwood ARM Sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze).
2x Noxon V2 audio client
1x PS3 Slim 500GB Audio/Video UPnP client.
1x Sony VGF-CP1 Wireless Photoframe.
Location: UK

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by mgillespie » Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:04 pm

What types are media are you trying to stream?

Shapps
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:07 pm
AV Hardware: PS3 system 3.21
Netgear Wireless
Macbook running Twonky

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by Shapps » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:19 am

.jpgs, video (.avi files), .mp3 files for music. Nothing works.

User avatar
mgillespie
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:19 pm
AV Hardware: TwonkyMedia AV UPnP Mediaserver (Marvell Kirkwood ARM Sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze).
2x Noxon V2 audio client
1x PS3 Slim 500GB Audio/Video UPnP client.
1x Sony VGF-CP1 Wireless Photoframe.
Location: UK

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by mgillespie » Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:41 am

It clearly does work for everyone else. Your bad attitude is why nobody wants to help you. There are alot of PS3 owners using TwonkyMedia, and all of them will have updated to the latest PS3 firmware (as you need to, to play online). Yours is the only post that claims it's not working.

It's clearly nothing to do with PS3 Firmware 3.21, it's a separate problem with your setup.

Shapps
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:07 pm
AV Hardware: PS3 system 3.21
Netgear Wireless
Macbook running Twonky

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by Shapps » Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:50 am

When you buy something that doesn't work, you are entitled to ask for help from the person who you bought it from.

Your attitude seems to be the same as those who i gave money to and hence i do not retract my statement that there is no support for this product and do not buy it.

It does not work with the settings i was given and with the latest version of the PS firmware.

If it is working then nobody from the start has replied or helped in a meaningful manner whatsoever.

First posted for help on the 10th of April and its now 26th. Not good enough.

TodboT
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 4:32 am
AV Hardware: PS3, Maxtor Central Axis w/Twonky 5.1.3, PC w/PlayOn & PS3 Media Server

Re: PS3 shows no title available

Post by TodboT » Mon May 03, 2010 4:45 am

I just installed Twonky 5.1.3 on my Maxtor Central Axis and ran into the same problem. I can browse all of my content on the Media Browser web page, but the PS3 doesn't display anything. I changed the Navigation Tree from Advanced to By Folder. I'm not sure if a server restart is required, but I did since I had changed some other setting as well (server name and rescan time). After it reset and rescanned, I could see everything from the PS3. I hope that helps you.

Post Reply