Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Locked
Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by Bascy » Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:06 pm

I've had this problem with certain AVI files in the previous version, and this update should have solved the problem ... .but in stead it has made it worse!

I've converted all my vids to AVI or MPG and they all show an play on my Sony Bravia 37EX500 if i use the ReadyNAS DLNA which is standard running on my ReadyNas Duo.

But when i use Twonky NONE of the vids are available on the TV :-(
If i look at the library with my laptop, all the vids are there, even if i choose Bravia View ....

What could be the problem here? I have a very small mpg file that will not show on the TV

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by Bascy » Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:27 am

Nobody????

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by phibertron » Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:48 am

not sure if it matters to the set, but it might
have you tried to name them .mpeg as opposed to .mpg extention?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by Bascy » Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:05 am

Thanks for the tip, will try it this evening

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by Bascy » Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:13 pm

Nope, doesnt help

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by phibertron » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:22 pm

when you look at the videos from your laptop how are you doing that
is it with the twonky webbrowse page on the nas
and are you abosultely certain that your client device supports mpeg via dlna?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by Bascy » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:26 pm

Yes im looking at the vids with the HTML client started from within the Twonky configuration.
The same .mpg files that twonky wont show on my Bravia TV are visible when i search them through the DLNA service that is natively on my ReadyNas (but hasnt got all the tweaking posibilities that TWonky has!)

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by phibertron » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:38 pm

I see, thanks for the clarification

As you may have already figured out
The media recievers section in twonky lets you see what you clients are detected as
the settings for each client are held in the clients.db

This is where things get tricky/ugly

The first approach is to try to choose different clients that might not make sense
The other is to actually create your own custom addition to the db
but that is dependent on knowing what to choose and why etc.
lots of trial and error

I pretty good at certain things in twonky
and I am comfortable in the twonky clients.db
but,
I think we should see what others have done with your bravia client
and or see is we can get twonky to jump in here to assist
on how best to approach what a log file will tell us to do to the db
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by Bascy » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:54 pm

Thanks for your sugestions I'll try the different client settings later This week.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by phibertron » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:59 pm

curious, what version of twonky are you running?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Sony Bravia EX500 not showing MPG

Post by Bascy » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:23 pm

The latest version available for ReadyNas: 6.0.37

Locked