Staggering video while db-update

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
cykelsmeden
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:48 am
AV Hardware: WD-NAS & W7 as TWONKYserver
sony 40w5500 as primary client
Philips MCI500 as secondary client
Medion Internetradio - not working DLNA yet ;(

Staggering video while db-update

Post by cykelsmeden » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:55 am

I've been using v4.x server for years now on 2gHz Intel, but due to server-crash, I desiced to update to latest v.6 on new Hardware, 3.8 gHz. celeron.
I was surpriced, that rebuilding db (2.000 pics, 8.000 mus and 200 vid) took about 3 hours. I remenber far shorter times.
At the same time, during any update of the db, staggering video on the client (sony bravia) is the result. I never saw that before. Finally, start-stopping/forwardspool feels very unresponsive and staggering, which I too never observed before. I'm not happy to go back to a v5, as it never worked with my Sony due to mix in select video/pictures.

Are some issues existing about priorities in the latest 6.0.37 build which are going to be remedied, or do I have to go back to v4?

Second: I find some transcodingsettings grayed out.
Can I expect in near future to keep recorded .tsfiles transcoded, to my mpg-only Bravia, on the fly, rather than manually convert theese to .mpg files?

greetings
//finn

cykelsmeden
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:48 am
AV Hardware: WD-NAS & W7 as TWONKYserver
sony 40w5500 as primary client
Philips MCI500 as secondary client
Medion Internetradio - not working DLNA yet ;(

Re: Staggering video while db-update

Post by cykelsmeden » Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:26 pm

I was surpriced, that rebuilding db (2.000 pics, 8.000 mus and 200 vid) took about 3 hours. I remenber far shorter times.
At the same time, during any update of the db, staggering video on the client (sony bravia) is the result. I never saw that before. Finally, start-stopping/forwardspool feels very unresponsive and staggering, which I too never observed before. I'm not happy to go back to a v5, as it never worked with my Sony due to mix in select video/pictures.
Well, it seem faster after the initial finishing, but still using a lot of time rebuilding, even after a nice closedown/restart.
Second: I find some transcodingsettings grayed out.
Can I expect in near future to keep recorded .tsfiles transcoded, to my mpg-only Bravia, on the fly, rather than manually convert theese to .mpg files?
and have I missed something in my understanding that it's possible to reach my media from "outside" lan?
I have fixed IP/dns and I can reash the frontpage, but links referes to lan-adresses (192.168....) rather than domainnames, which obviously don't work from outside.

Is any tecnical ref. aviable (I.e. use/meaning of ini-variables)

greetings
//finn

User avatar
parnott
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 9:55 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky, WDTV Live, XBMC (Linux & Windows)

Re: Staggering video while db-update

Post by parnott » Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:22 pm

and have I missed something in my understanding that it's possible to reach my media from "outside" lan?
I have fixed IP/dns and I can reash the frontpage, but links referes to lan-adresses (192.168....) rather than domainnames, which obviously don't work from outside.

Is any tecnical ref. aviable (I.e. use/meaning of ini-variables)
Have you read these sticky posts?
http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3707
http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

cykelsmeden
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:48 am
AV Hardware: WD-NAS & W7 as TWONKYserver
sony 40w5500 as primary client
Philips MCI500 as secondary client
Medion Internetradio - not working DLNA yet ;(

Re: Staggering video while db-update

Post by cykelsmeden » Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:44 pm

Yes, and to the best of my knowledge I've done all the right things :(

When I acces my domain:9440 I even go directly to the HTLM page letting me select music, video or pictures.
However, when I point the cursor on a link it displayes the local IPadress of the server, which of course works fine from the LAN, but is of no use from WAN- outside. I would expect the configured dyndns-addr to show as the link from outside like:

# dynamic dns prefix for remote access, including http://
dyndns=http://www.mydom.dk:9440 giving:
<A href="http://www.mydom.dk:9440/xyz/">
instead of <A href="http://192.168.1.62:9440/xyz/">

I might still be missing something, as I find it hard to find collected info about TWONKYsettings.

forgot, just to clarify: W7 ultimate, Twonky 6.0.37, as I realize in this forum several has the same problem, using Linux however!
I have no problem editing and keeping the changes in the twonkymedia-server.ini file, and I do a full reboot in btw. changes.

//finn
BTW, I have made a, supposedly errorfree, localized danish strings-DA.txt if any interest.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Staggering video while db-update

Post by phibertron » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:17 pm

[quote="cykelsmeden"][quote]Have you read these sticky posts?

# dynamic dns prefix for remote access, including http://
dyndns=http://www.mydom.dk:9440 giving:
<A href="http://www.mydom.dk:9440/xyz/">
instead of <A href="http://192.168.1.62:9440/xyz/">
quote]

I think that the port is not suppoed to be added

# dynamic dns prefix for remote access, including http://
dyndns=http://www.mydom.dk

and the port is defined here and not at dyndns var

# http server port for remote access
httpremoteport=9440

there are some other settings to look at
here is an exmaple

http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 200#p38478
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

cykelsmeden
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:48 am
AV Hardware: WD-NAS & W7 as TWONKYserver
sony 40w5500 as primary client
Philips MCI500 as secondary client
Medion Internetradio - not working DLNA yet ;(

Re: Staggering video while db-update

Post by cykelsmeden » Fri Oct 28, 2011 6:17 pm

I think that the port is not suppoed to be added

# dynamic dns prefix for remote access, including http://
dyndns=http://www.mydom.dk

and the port is defined here and not at dyndns var

# http server port for remote access
httpremoteport=9440

there are some other settings to look at
here is an example

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6124&start=200#p38478
Thankyou for responce. I the meantime I stumbled over the portissue, but correction did not change anything.
I have the excact same settings as in the exsample, except, I used my public domainname, rather than the public IP.
However, changing the dyndns-var to my public IP still dont change the links from the local serverIP.
I believe there is a bug in .0.37(Win)??, so I have mailed support containing some screendumps.
I have of course not heard any responce yet, as the appearently are ~12 hours into my future :-)

//finn

Post Reply