Firmware problem

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
magpie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:23 pm
AV Hardware: Linn DS Twonky

Firmware problem

Post by magpie » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:33 pm

I have Qnap TS110 turbo NAS running Twonky mediaserver which I have to update with firmware manually as auto update will not work. In the maintenance page where I go to rescan following adding more files the text has been all compressed to the left in the horizontal list of options alon the top of the page. I can't read what the options are and can only see SQRRR I think it is with all of the following letters in each option overwritten on top of eachother. I have done a firmware update but this has not solved the problem. Anyone have any ideas of a fix or can tell me wich R is for Rescan rather than Rebuild???
Thanks,
K

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Firmware problem

Post by phibertron » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:00 pm

Not sure which version is that firmware
But a a few version back of twonky server
a bug was introduced that sounds like you describe
in your browser, probably IE right?
run that page in compatability mode, i had to do that for that problem
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

magpie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:23 pm
AV Hardware: Linn DS Twonky

Re: Firmware problem

Post by magpie » Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:17 am

Thanks for the quick reply. Yes running IE8 but so that a complete beginner likr me can understand, how do I run which page in compatability mode? :?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Firmware problem

Post by phibertron » Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:55 am

pictures say it all =)

If you see this icon click it, it while put the page in comp mode
ie comp view 1.jpg
ie comp view 1.jpg (195.77 KiB) Viewed 4831 times
if not, if you see the tool bar click here
ie comp view 2.jpg
ie comp view 2.jpg (193.07 KiB) Viewed 4831 times
you could also manage other sites here
ie comp view 3.jpg
ie comp view 3.jpg (176.43 KiB) Viewed 4831 times
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

cykelsmeden
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:48 am
AV Hardware: WD-NAS & W7 as TWONKYserver
sony 40w5500 as primary client
Philips MCI500 as secondary client
Medion Internetradio - not working DLNA yet ;(

Re: Firmware problem

Post by cykelsmeden » Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:52 am

I might be wrong, but sounds to me you (OP) are using a NAS, and I take you are using a Clients(PC) browser?

If so, the sample setting 127.0.0.1 into compabilitymode probably is a bad sample. In that case you must use the IP of the NAS.

//finn
- however , if you use v 6.0.37 I believe there is only the HTML menu that are mixed into the header, and that is remedied by adding a simple <p> statement in the corresponding HTML page, just in front of the menupoint.
(counts at least for the windows version)

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Firmware problem

Post by phibertron » Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:03 pm

cykelsmeden wrote: If so, the sample setting 127.0.0.1 into compabilitymode probably is a bad sample.
In that case you must use the IP of the NAS.

//finn
- however , if you use v 6.0.37 I believe there is only the HTML menu that are mixed into the header,
and that is remedied by adding a simple <p> statement in the corresponding HTML page,
just in front of the menupoint. (counts at least for the windows version)
Good catch/point on the 127.0.0.1

Great remedy with the <p> statement
I cant believe I never took the time to go look at the code =(
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

cykelsmeden
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:48 am
AV Hardware: WD-NAS & W7 as TWONKYserver
sony 40w5500 as primary client
Philips MCI500 as secondary client
Medion Internetradio - not working DLNA yet ;(

Re: Firmware problem

Post by cykelsmeden » Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:06 pm

phibertron wrote: Good catch/point on the 127.0.0.1

Great remedy with the <p> statement
I cant believe I never took the time to go look at the code

Well the <p> issue is reported, but TWsupport appearently don't mind.
It was reported a month ago, together with samples documenting the not working remote-access, but then again. that little problem has long ago passed a year :cry:
Unfortenuately my skills don't suffice to find where the webserver renders[rather "not renders"] the localIP.

//finn

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Firmware problem

Post by phibertron » Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:15 am

I havent taken a wicked close look at the html code
But I suspect that the problem is related around the web code returned on a GET is based off of the dlna code returned
that a DLNA client would need to parse through to render things
thus the hard coded lan ip
which there solution in theory should work, why its not, who knows
but I think a middle man web service might do the trick, maybe a quick asp page or something
to re-render an include from the twonky server
Just a guess though
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Post Reply