Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Locked
KochP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:33 pm
AV Hardware: iMac 21,5"
devolo Delan 200 AVPlus Start Kit

Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by KochP » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:39 pm

Hi,
I have successfully installed the Twonky Server on my iMac and connected to my TV.
It works, but I have all my photos (from iPhoto) 2 to 3 times on my Twonky Server and
NO idea what to do to bring it down to a one to one relation. :?:

Your help is very much appreciated.
Regards,
Peter

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by Twonky_Rick » Wed Mar 21, 2012 12:41 am

Things to try:
1. First check the server media browser page to make sure you're seeing the dupes there.
2. Then try a rescan a rebuilding your database.
3. If those don't work, check your shared media folder to make sure there are no dupes.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

KochP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:33 pm
AV Hardware: iMac 21,5"
devolo Delan 200 AVPlus Start Kit

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by KochP » Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:48 pm

Dear Rick,
Sorry for my late reply due to absence.
To 1. I have to say I am not good in these things. Please be so kind and give me a few more
details. What exactly do I have to do? :(
To 2. Again, more details please.
To 3. How can I do this? :?:
Thanks very much for further help.
Peter

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by phibertron » Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:35 pm

If I had to guess its one of two things

1 you know how itunes has a problem with showing dupes, maybe related to this
2 its possible that it is seeing the photo folder, and the photo stream folder, which are probably the dupes
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by Twonky_Rick » Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:56 pm

KochP wrote:Dear Rick,
Sorry for my late reply due to absence.
To 1. I have to say I am not good in these things. Please be so kind and give me a few more
details. What exactly do I have to do? :(
To 2. Again, more details please.
To 3. How can I do this? :?:
Thanks very much for further help.
Peter
I'll be happy to provide more details as soon as you tell me which version of TwonkyServer you are running. Thanks.

The instructions vary.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

KochP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:33 pm
AV Hardware: iMac 21,5"
devolo Delan 200 AVPlus Start Kit

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by KochP » Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:10 pm

I'll be happy to provide more details as soon as you tell me which version of TwonkyServer you are running. Thanks.

The instructions vary.



Hi Rick,

I run Version 6.0.1

Regards, Peter

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by Twonky_Rick » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:59 pm

Things to try:

1. First check the server media browser page to make sure you're seeing the dupes there. If Twonky is running on your computer, paste the following in your web browser. You should see a server status page. Click on the "HTML" link on the left under Media Browser. Then click on Photos and see if you see dupes here. You probably will.

2. Now click on the Wrench icon on the left and then click on the Maintenance link on the left. Press the Rebild Database button. You'll see in progress under 'Last Database Change'. That means it's still running. It could take up to 15 minutes to finish this depending on your device speed and library size. Repeat step 1 and see if you still see dupes.

3. If you're still seeing dupes check your shared media folder to make sure there are no dupes in there. You may want to start moving media folders to the desktop and performing a rescan (If it doesn't update automatically you can force an update by pressing the 'Rescan Content Directories' button on the Maintenance screen)

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

KochP
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:33 pm
AV Hardware: iMac 21,5"
devolo Delan 200 AVPlus Start Kit

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by KochP » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:49 pm

I tested!

Result:
Top 1. I saw dupes.
Top 2. I still saw dupes
Top 3. Dupes are still there. It seems that they are in my iPhoto library.

Then I copied some photo folders to my 2nd hard disk and went to the procedure above again,
and oh wonder I have then only single photos.

So far, my problem seems to be solved if I copy everything to the other hard disk, but I still
don't understand why my photos are doubled in my original iPhoto library??
I might contact Apple care, perhaps they have an idea?
If so I'll let you know.

Many thanks,
Peter

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Twonky Server on Mac with double Photos

Post by Twonky_Rick » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:26 pm

Sounds like a good idea to me.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

Locked