Server changing it's own name

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
Steevo25
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:43 pm
AV Hardware: TeraStation III

Server changing it's own name

Post by Steevo25 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:19 pm

Hi All,

I purchased Twonky Special 7.0.7 yesterday to upgrade the Twonky 4.4 version that came with my Buffalo TeraStation NAS box.

Installation went absolutely fine and I could stream from it to all my DLNA devices.

But, after a while all my media devices would play for about 30 seconds and then I would get an error on the device saying 'Capture server unavailable'. The different devices did show slightly different error messsages but all meant the same thing.

It took me a while to find out what was happening. Whenever the streaming stopped, I re-scanned on the device to find servers and each time the Twonky server was changing it's name.

I originaly named the server 'Langley' (our surname). When I scanned with the DLNA devices they picked up the media server 'Langley'. When they errored, I re-scanned and this time they were finding 'myTwonkey Library at Langley'. I would then stream from there and it would all stop again. A re-scan then found 'Langley' again. So the name that my server was broadcasting kept flicking between 'Langley' and 'myTwonky Library at Langley'.

I have no idea why this is happening. At the moment, I have had to revert back to version 4.4 just so I can use it.

The other thing I noticed is that everytime the server flicked to 'myTwonky Library at Langley', it was a slightly different version of the files it was presenting. For example, I would add a new file to my library and when showing 'Langley', the files were correct. When it flicked to 'myTwonky Library at Langley', it would be the version before without that extra file.

Can anyone shed any light on what is happening and any ideas how I can fix it. At the moment I have had to turn off version 7 as it is unusable in it's current form.

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by Twonky_Rick » Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:40 pm

I'm not sure why this is occurring.

1. Is anyone else having this problem?
2. Did you download your server from here? http://www.twonkyforum.com/downloads/7.0.5-Special/

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

Steevo25
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:43 pm
AV Hardware: TeraStation III

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by Steevo25 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:08 pm

[quote="TMM_Product_Manager"]I'm not sure why this is occurring.

1. Is anyone else having this problem?
2. Did you download your server from here? http://www.twonkyforum.com/downloads/7.0.5-Special/

- Rick[/quote]

Thanks for replying. I downloaded via link on the Buffalo Forums with a how-to on how to install. It was a manual install as in I did not have to run NASSetup.exe.

It was from this link:
http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/vi ... 68&t=25337

I didn't want to have to write over my original installation.

The link does download from this forum and its a kirkwood special download.

The file was twonky-i386-glibc-2.2.5-special-7.0.7.zip

Steevo25
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:43 pm
AV Hardware: TeraStation III

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by Steevo25 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:37 pm

My apologies, it was the file you specified. The filename I pasted above was one I pasted when I was looking at the site. The one installed was the 7.0.5 kirkwood downloaded from the link you provided.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by phibertron » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:24 am

If I had to guess, I bet the old installation is either running in parrallel to the new
which is why your seeing it toggle back and forth
just a guess though
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Steevo25
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:43 pm
AV Hardware: TeraStation III

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by Steevo25 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:05 am

[quote="phibertron"]If I had to guess, I bet the old installation is either running in parrallel to the new
which is why your seeing it toggle back and forth
just a guess though[/quote]

They were my first thoughts at the time but the 2 versions do not share any files except the startup script and this was removed and replaced with the new one so the old one couldn't even start if it was asked to.

Also, on the old version the name of the server was 'Media' so that doesn't relate to the 2 names that it is flicking between. Also the 'myTwonky Library at' name seems to be related to the online version which was not available in version 4.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by phibertron » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:27 pm

Bummer, I was that would have been it, would have been easier to fix

I know there were some issues with spaces in server names, noted somewhere
in version 7.0.7

But there is no 7.0.7 for nas as of yet

Guess well have to wait to see if its fixed in the next release
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Steevo25
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:43 pm
AV Hardware: TeraStation III

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by Steevo25 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:23 pm

Well I finally managed to fix it. All I did was start it up, change the name and then save the changes. It has not done it since and has been up for a few hours now.

Many thanks for your replies.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Server changing it's own name

Post by phibertron » Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:10 am

Good to hear, Your Welcome
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Post Reply