The wretched state of GPU transcoding

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

The wretched state of GPU transcoding

Post by phibertron » Thu May 10, 2012 12:48 am

With all the recent talk of transcoding and the world of dlna streaming
I thought that I would share this recent article I came across

The wretched state of GPU transcoding
http://www.extremetech.com/computing/12 ... ranscoding

In a nutshell I feel that real time transcoding has always been a last resort option
or an option if time is not an option
as just about any real time transcoding is limiting in quality
and when I watch a movie I want a quality experience

I shared the article as a refrence to something I have been waiting and waiting for the industry to do
and that is create a plug in module or usb stick that is a realtime hardware encoder
which would solve a lot of issues in this arena
but everyone of the ones I have looked at is nutered, and sadly so is gpu transcoding, what a shame!

I guess I'll keep on using Handbrake for my media creation
which in doing so allows me to create mp4's that play on literally everything
without the need to worry if it is or is not going to work

So I guess my point it is, if you struggle with transcoding, take a look at pre-transcoding your media
As it will make you media streaming needs a lot less painfull
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

User avatar
DaemonBeetle
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:05 am
AV Hardware: Plex Media Server, Samsung Smart TV (2009 and 2013)

Re: The wretched state of GPU transcoding

Post by DaemonBeetle » Sat May 12, 2012 9:44 pm

That post needs a +1 button ;)

Given that my quad core 3.1 GHz Core i5 can't encode 1080p media in anything close to real time at good quality there's no way any NAS could cope. Discussions on the Handbrake forum about the quality of GPU encoding makes interesting reading (but not encouraging).

By pre-encoding my media I can also ensure that it's in a format I can take with me. Then I can easily watch it on my TV, my netbook or even my phone...
No longer running Twonky

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: The wretched state of GPU transcoding

Post by phibertron » Sat May 12, 2012 11:10 pm

DaemonBeetle wrote:That post needs a +1 button
that it does

Hopefully in a not too distant future well have real time hardware encoders
for the consumer that dont comprimise on features and quality

But it until then, I'm with ya on that, pre-encode for quality and compatability
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

RayX9500
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:54 pm
AV Hardware: 3XKISS 1600
4X Windows 7 laptops
1X Atom D510 7 X64 server with Twonky Server 6

Re: The wretched state of GPU transcoding

Post by RayX9500 » Sun May 13, 2012 11:46 pm

Sorenson Squeeze has had gpu transcoding for years but its not cheap. There are real time encoders both pci cards and dedicated appliances but they cost a fortune i found it cheaper to just rent a drill and pipe hdmi around the house from the garage server.

No noise in the rooms or compatibility issues.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: The wretched state of GPU transcoding

Post by phibertron » Mon May 14, 2012 12:25 am

RayX9500 wrote:Sorenson Squeeze has had gpu transcoding for years but its not cheap. There are real time encoders both pci cards and dedicated appliances but they cost a fortune i found it cheaper to just rent a drill and pipe hdmi around the house from the garage server.

No noise in the rooms or compatibility issues.
I took the same approach for networking the house
I had a conduit installed from the attic to the basement
and made drops down from the attic, and then up from the basement
all the network and server gear is in the basement

wireless is for phones and tablets, eveything else hard wired

Yup, the hardware encoders, the real ones, are not cheap at all
I do hold out hope that we may still see "consumer" priced gear
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Post Reply