Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS 7.3

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Locked
floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS 7.3

Post by floid99 » Fri May 30, 2014 1:18 pm

Hi all
I was reading a lot before write this post but unfortunatly I couldn’t solve my problem.
I have a trial version of Twonky Server 7.3 running on Windows XP machine and I have two clients, a Panasonic Viera TV and a Samsung Galaxy S3 mobile.
As subject says, I can’t sort my music by track number on Panasonic client
I modified the file view-definitions.xml changing lines
<container name='byfolder' id='music/folders' class='object.container.storageFolder' createClass='object.item.audioItem.musicTrack'>
<container buildon='res' albumart='1' createClass='object.item.audioItem.musicTrack' class='object.container.storageFolder' />
</container>
By
<container name='byfolder' id='music/folders' class='object.container.storageFolder' createClass='object.item.audioItem.musicTrack'>
<container buildon='res' sortcriteria='+upnp:originalTrackNumber,+dc:title' albumart='1' createClass='object.item.audioItem.musicTrack' class='object.container.storageFolder' />
</container>
And the Panasonic_VIERA.xml file located in “C:\Archivos de programa\Twonky\TwonkyServer\resources\devicedb\Panasonic” folder adding the lines IGNORESORT and VALIDATEDSORT
<Quirk>RES_ADD_FLAG</Quirk>
<Quirk>SUPPORT_MPG2TS_TIME_SEEK</Quirk>
<Quirk>FORCE_4TH_FIELD</Quirk>
<Quirk>IGNORESORT</Quirk>
<Quirk>VALIDATEDSORT</Quirk>
</DeviceQuirks>
But this has only had effect in the Samsung client, not in Panasonic client.
Please, can somebody help me?
Thanks Guillermo

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Fri May 30, 2014 4:01 pm

Just checking, but you did reboot the server after making changes?

See if doing this helps
Remove <Quirk>VALIDATEDSORT</Quirk>
And try using only <Quirk>IGNORESORT</Quirk>
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Fri May 30, 2014 5:15 pm

Thanks Phibertron
When you say “did reboot the server after making changes?” you are talking about the TS server or the Windows machine?
For the first case (TS server) the answer is yes, I stopped and started the server from the TS system try icon’s options
For the second one (Windows machine) the answer is not.
One of my tests was with the IGNORESORT option only but without rebooting the Windows system, I’ll do what you suggest me tonight.
Can I see some log file to check if I’m modifying the correct file?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Fri May 30, 2014 10:42 pm

If you didn't know, all changes to client xml files or the navtree xml files, require a reboot
they are only read on server startup

I think if one turns on logging and ups the level of verbosity, it would show something in the logs
about reading the files
But I don't think you will be able to glean anything about your scenario

I have a Panasonic Viera plasma at home
Im not using 7.3, but will spin up a VM and see if I can see what you see
I know that prior to 7.3 all I needed to use was IGNORESORT

the one MAJOR change to 7.3 that I know of is this
Say you had some files that didn't have Disc or Track tags
Prior to 7.3 when sorting on disc or track, things wouldn't work out as expected
due to the missing tags
In 7.3, it appears that ALL missing tags get populated with something
so using the same example, 7.3 would add disc 1 and track 1 to the item
Im still not sure that this is a good thing, but I understand why they chose to do this
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Sat May 31, 2014 2:22 am

I just tried only with IGNORESORT and rebooting the machine but it doesn’t works.

I’ll wait for your test.

Is it possible to downgrade the server version to 7.2? and if I do that and the old version works fine, can I buy a license for the 7.2 version?

By the way, all my files has track, name, album, year, gender and interpreter tags and the files names has a track number like a prefix, the problem is only with the TV, the mobile works fine

Thanks again

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Sun Jun 01, 2014 1:25 am

Sorry for the delay, Im in the middle of rebuilding the deck, fun times man...
But I did find time to do some tests =)

I have 2 different models of their plasmas
In all of my test I only needed to use <Quirk>IGNORESORT</Quirk> with the Panasonic

my tests included different scenarios of sort on track, disc, and title

At first I saw what you say, but then had a big DOH! moment
If you haven't done this yet, you'll need to
You need to do a database rebuild
All navtree changes that involve sorting changes need a database rebuild
Some changes like added a branch just need a server restart

Once I did a database rebuild all worked as it should have
I tested this on 7.3, 7.2.8, 7.1.2 and 7.0.9 just to be sure I hadn't missed something
that might have been introduced somewhere in time
but it looks like everything is the same, in that sorting changes need a db rebuild
you can do one with an rpc call

x.x.x.x:9000/rpc/rebuild

let me know how it goes

note:
and yeah if you have a large library of music and a slow machine
it could be a while
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Sun Jun 01, 2014 5:26 pm

Phibertron

I made the following:
Logged as Windows administrator, with or without Twonky server configuration open (http://127.0.0.1:9000/webconfig) I opened a new firefox or chrome windows and typed the following address 127.0.0.1:9000/rpc/rebuild.

After this, the screen shows a message saying “server is restarting, this may take several minutes” or something like this

Following this message, the browser opens a library screen (http://127.0.0.1:9000/webbrowse), but the processor keeps using about 50% CPU, I wait until processor goes to 2%

It’s takes a few seconds

After this, I stop and restart the server (just in case)

Unfortunately nothing changes.

I have 1608 music files and a Pentium dual core machine with 3GHz and 2GB ram.

I installed a UMS server and this shows the music in correct way but it can’t reproduce some movies, don't like this product

I added a new client on my old Motorola Fire mobile with android 2.1 and the phone works very well with Twonky, the only device that doesn’t work is the TV.

I’m going crazy

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:00 pm

It sounds like twonky is not assigning the correct client profile for the Viera
Or there is somehow a typo in your client xml file for the Viera

I have a the Panasonic Viera TC-P50S60, and a Panasonic Viera TC-P60UT50
and the only thing I need to do is add <Quirk>IGNORESORT</Quirk>
for either of them to sort the way the twonky navtree is being told to sort

1st thing to check is the Web Interface
are the files in your By Folder shown sorted correctly?
if yes, then navtree is ok, if not something is wrong in the navtree or the item tags

2nd thing to check is assigned client profile
is twonky assigning the "Panasonic Viera" media receiver type?
If not, assign it

3rd thing to check
in your tests, are you backing out of of the dlna menu on the tv
if not, it would be a good idea to do so, or turn it off and on again
as TV's do cache things
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:09 pm

Just a guess
maybe you aren't going deep enough when you are checking the sort on the tv

for example, if one had files at the root of the share
and you had the below sort logic
the ones at the root would not be sorted
only items in sub folders would be sorted

Code: Select all

<container name='byfolder' id='music/folders' 
	<container buildon='res' albumart='1' sortcriteria='+upnp:originalTrackNumber,+dc:title'
</container>
If you add sort logic to both levels like the below
this would take care of items at the root level

Code: Select all

<container name='byfolder' id='music/folders' sortcriteria='+upnp:originalTrackNumber,+dc:title' 
	<container buildon='res' albumart='1' sortcriteria='+upnp:originalTrackNumber,+dc:title'
</container>
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:31 pm

The Web interface shows the file sorted correctly, like another devices.

I modified the file “C:\Archivos de programa\Twonky\TwonkyServer\resources\views\view-definitions.xml” like you suggested in previous post, shut down the server, turn off the TV, unplug the TV from the power but nothing changed.

How can I check if Twonky is assigning the correct Panasonic Viera profile? (C:\Archivos de programa\Twonky\TwonkyServer\resources\devicedb\Panasonic\Panasonic_VIERA.xml file)

Thanks for your patience

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:48 am

Look in sharing and then under Media Receivers
you will see the detected clients listed there
you can look at the mac address on the tv under settings
and then match that up with with twonky has listed

x.x.x.x:9000/#sharing

no worries, Im at a loss as to why it works for me an not you
what model number is your tv?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:35 pm

I’m not at home now.
When you say “Look in sharing and then under Media Receivers you will see the detected clients listed there” are you talking about 127.0.0.1:9000/webbrowse screen?, because at left side of this screen I remember seeing the name Panasonic Viera E5, but I couldn’t open this link.
Tonight I will check with 127.0.0.1:9000/#sharing to check the mac but surely it must be correct because, if not, I wouldn’t receive any information from the server on my TV, isn’t it?
The TV is a TC-L42E5A

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:12 pm

Answer to question 2, "2nd thing to check is assigned client profile
is twonky assigning the "Panasonic Viera" media receiver type?
If not, assign it"
Yes, the data is correct
mac=ok
ip=ok
media receiver=ok, Panasonic Viera

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Tue Jun 03, 2014 11:56 pm

well at least the client is being assigned the correct profile

when viewing the items in question through the web interface
are they being shown in the correct order that you are expecting?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:57 pm

Yes, the web and other devices shown the items in the correct way

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:15 pm

Since you have already edited the Panasonic xml file with IGNORESORT and VALIDATEDSORT
I don't think that the issue is with 7.3 as I was able to get it working on my TV's
But your tv is different than mine, maybe a trying 7.2.8 might help, maybe...

Here is the link to 7.2.8 for Windows
you would still have to edit the navtree and viera xml files once installed

Code: Select all

http://www.twonkyforum.com/downloads/7.2.8/TwonkyServer-7.2.8.exe
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

floid99
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 2:56 am
AV Hardware: Panasonic Viera TC-L42E5A
Samsung Galaxy SIII mobile

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by floid99 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:50 pm

Hi phibertron sorry for the delay
Last weekend I downgraded first to 7.2.8 and after that to 7.2, both cases modifying the original view and Panasonic xml files but nothing works
I’m give up, I lose
The only device that doesn’t work is the TV, both mobiles Motorola (android 2.1) and Samsung (android 4.x) and WD TVLive works fine
Thanks a lot for your patien

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Can't sort by track number in Panasonic device using TS

Post by phibertron » Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:14 pm

total bummer =(
I think that maybe this issue is specific to that model tv
maybe twonky can offer assistance with some other method of dealing with the sorting issue

note:
just as an example, on an xbox 360, its game over when it comes to sorting
there is nothing in the world that can make it sort via dlna
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Locked