Status page launches on start-up...why?

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Locked
Jack Hennety
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:11 pm
AV Hardware: Philips 46PFL8007 TV
Windows 8.1 Pro x64 PC

Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by Jack Hennety » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:34 pm

Posting hopefully, given this forum doesn't seem too active to say the least.

Twonky Media Server 7.0.9 Special installed to Win 8.1 Pro x64. The reason for that version of Twonky is that I have a Philips TV and that's the version that Philips links to from their site for this particular set.

Anyway, this is pretty trivial, but annoying. When I log in to Windows, TMS starts silently. Just sits in the tray as you'd expect. Fine. I installed it; I'm the PC administrator. When my wife logs in (she's also an admin of the PC), Firefox launches the Twonky Media Server status page every time. Why? And how do I stop it?

When I look in Start-up for me, there's a normal entry for Twonky Tray Application. Logged in as her, it shows as Twonky Tray Application (2), and is expandable. When opened, it shows Firefox and Twonky tray application beneath. I've tried installing TMS as both me and as her, and no matter which way around I do it, she always gets the status page launching and I never do, and those entries are as described in Start-up. I can't disable the Firefox aspect of it; there's no option to do so. Right-click does nothing - it's either disable the tray application completely or leave as-is. And as this applies to the PC rather than the user, if I disable it for one of us it's disabled for both.

All suggestions gratelfully received :)

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by phibertron » Tue Aug 26, 2014 10:28 pm

Anyway, this is pretty trivial, but annoying. When I log in to Windows, TMS starts silently. Just sits in the tray as you'd expect. Fine. I installed it; I'm the PC administrator. When my wife logs in (she's also an admin of the PC), Firefox launches the Twonky Media Server status page every time. Why? And how do I stop it?
I have never seen the twonky systray tool do that,
nor am I aware of it being able to do what you are experiencing
When I look in Start-up for me, there's a normal entry for Twonky Tray Application.
Logged in as her, it shows as Twonky Tray Application (2), and is expandable.
When opened, it shows Firefox and Twonky tray application beneath.
To me it looks like having firefox in the startup folder is the culprit
Is there a need to have firefox auto start when logging in?

In addition, Its also possible that firefox might have twonky set to be its default home page for some reason
which could be compounding the issue even further
.
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Jack Hennety
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:11 pm
AV Hardware: Philips 46PFL8007 TV
Windows 8.1 Pro x64 PC

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by Jack Hennety » Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:28 pm

Thanks for the reply. Firefox isn't in startup at all, other than nested beneath Twonky Tray Application. In fact whatever's set as the default browser Twonky opens; I confirmed this by changing it to Chrome.

And also, Twonky isn't defined anywhere in Firefox as the default home page. So it's not Firefox. My guess is that there's something strange in the registry somewhere. I just don't know where to look.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by phibertron » Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:09 pm

Im confused by this
When I look in Start-up for me, there's a normal entry for Twonky Tray Application.
Logged in as her, it shows as Twonky Tray Application (2), and is expandable.
When opened, it shows Firefox and Twonky tray application beneath.
and this
Firefox isn't in startup at all, other than nested beneath Twonky Tray Application.
I'll fire up a VM of Win 8.1 to see If I can see what this nesting looks like

Stopping programs from auto starting that are in the startup folder is as easy as removing the link for it from that folder

To stop things that are auto starting that are not in the startup folder is where you need to use "MSCONFIG"
Its the safest way for people to enable or disable things during startup
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by phibertron » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:03 pm

here is what I did so far to replicate your scenario

Two users both admins, Admin and Test
Installed Firefox
Installed TS 7.0.9
Logged in as Test, and Firefox auto launched when it should not have

Im peeking around at things right now
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by phibertron » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:33 pm

I noticed that the Twonky Tray App shortcut is in the all users folder

Image

If you move it into one of the users startup folder (or both if you want, not the all users) the issue with firefox goes away

Image

As to why the issue was happening otherwise, not sure just yet
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Jack Hennety
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:11 pm
AV Hardware: Philips 46PFL8007 TV
Windows 8.1 Pro x64 PC

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by Jack Hennety » Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:07 pm

phibertron, I'm really grateful for the lengths you're going to here! Thanks!

I'm not at home right now, so I'll look at the Program Data\Startup folder fix when I get in.

Since I last posted, I uninstalled Twonky completely, removed all traces I could find, and re-ran the installer as Administrator. The same problem still occurs with FF opening, but now Firefox doesn't appear nested within the 'Twonky Tray Application' entry in the Task Manager\Startup list. It just shows as plain 'Twonky Tray Application', the same as it does under my own user name.

So that element of the puzzle has gone away. Hopefully the Program Data\Startup folder will sort this out and I can forget about the 'why'.

Regarding the nesting of entries in Task Manager\Startup, I'd post a picture if I could - but I'm not sure how. Also, with Win 8 it's not possible to use msconfig any more - you're linked to Task Manager instead. Anyway, I'll report back.

Cheers.

Jack Hennety
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:11 pm
AV Hardware: Philips 46PFL8007 TV
Windows 8.1 Pro x64 PC

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by Jack Hennety » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:12 pm

OK, moving the shortcut out of Program Data Start-up has sorted it. Fantastic! Thanks very much for that. :P

I must admit I never thought about that location being an 'All Users' area for Start-up items. I looked in the individual users' Start-up folders within AppData\Roaming etc but it never occurred to me to look in Program Data.

So thanks again. You've stopped me being nagged about 'that bloody Twonky thing that keeps popping up' by the Mrs :lol:

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Status page launches on start-up...why?

Post by phibertron » Thu Aug 28, 2014 9:58 pm

Your Welcome, glad to hear that worked as expected

Starting in Windows Vista they changed things up, and changed the users folder
and also made the all users a hidden folder which in reality is actually a link to programdata
And in Windows 8 they made it a little harder to see what is going on compared to Windows 7
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Locked