STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Locked
Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:47 pm

Hello -

I'm experiencing a similar problem to this thread (http://twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11802), but on a Mac. I just upgraded and bought Twoky Media Server, but now for some reason whenever I turn my computer on, the browser launches (Safari) and shows me the status of my Twonky server.

I want this to stop as it never did this before. I searched but I can't find anything. Can anyone help!? :)

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by phibertron » Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:57 pm

what version of twonky server?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:29 am

Version 7.3

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by phibertron » Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:52 am

I did a test by installing 7.3 onto OSX 10.9.4, and I did not see the issue
after rebooting I had to actually manually launch twonky from the applications folder

- maybe the upgrade caused the issue

- or maybe when you shutdown you have launch open windows on start checked
I tried this, and still had to open twonky from the apps folder, so its probably the upgrade that caused it

- or, not sure yet what would cause this
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 5:24 am

Thank you for doing that.

I should note: I do have Twonky set up to automatically launch when I turn on my computer, I wonder if that's the issue? Although it never did this before the upgrade, it just automatically started in the background.

I wonder if I uninstall and reinstall?

Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:28 pm

So I just took off automatically logging in when I turn on my computer and restarted. The window didn't reappear, although Twonky was now not automatically logging in. But when I turned on Twonky, Safari launched and opened up that same page!

This is really frustrating. :(

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by phibertron » Sun Sep 14, 2014 5:30 pm

I'll play with it a little and see if there is a way to make it not do that
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:14 pm

Hey ya -

Just wondering if there are any updates with this situation. I find it odd that such a simple thing isn't easy to deactivate?

I'm considering dumping Twonky and seeing what my other options are at this point, I think. I mean, I know it's a small issue, but it's annoying enough for me to jump ship. :(

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by phibertron » Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:38 pm

On the Windows version they install it as a service, and use a system try applet
which was the issue on that other thread

On the OSX version they seemed to have combined the two
when ever one starts the server, it is launching the web config site
I cant find a way to make it stop doing that

I would contact support or call them, help@twonky.com or support@twonky.com
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:23 pm

Thanks so much for all your help.

I have contacted support a while ago, but they still haven't replied back.

Time to look at some alternative options for Twonky.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by phibertron » Wed Sep 17, 2014 4:34 pm

Your Welcome

I would try contacting the parent company, and see if it helps, http://www.pv.com/contact-us/

I think all products have pluses and minuses,
trying to find one with the most pluses, and the least minuses,
that does what you want and reliably is not an easy task
but in the end I say one should use what works for them
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:14 pm

Hey - thanks again for being the only one to help me with this situation.

No one from Twonky or its parent company are replying to my email, so I'm looking at options for alternate media servers right now.

It's unfortunate, because up until the update, Twonky was a peach! Now I get that stupid pop up every time I start my computer. So annoying.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by phibertron » Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:20 pm

Your Welcome

That's a shame, they went dark on me a while back, not sure whats up with them anymore

Curious, what version prior to this current one, was the one that didn't have the issue for you?
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Quattro80
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:43 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server Version 7.3

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by Quattro80 » Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:31 pm

I don't remember, to be honest. I had installed it a long time ago and it just worked in the background. When I tried to connect my video library and discovered that I couldn't, I had to "upgrade". It was the Twonky version where the Twonky logo was round (don't know build). Now everything is a mess. On top of that issue I created the topic about, I'm getting multiple listings of the same song under certain albums. I played around with a bunch of different navigation trees, even created my own, but it still does it.

How could such a great media server take a complete 180?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: STATUS PAGE loads whenever I turn computer on (MAC)

Post by phibertron » Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:21 pm

No worries, I'll peak around and see when this behavior creeped in

Yeah I've heard about some issues with 7.3

Maybe upper management changed, could also be $ driven, and market focus, hard to say
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Locked