Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
gbeer7
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:14 am
AV Hardware: QNAP ts-110

Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by gbeer7 » Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:36 am

Hi,

In the past month i've had this issue with my Qnap ts-110 NAS not seeing external drives but it does give them power. Qnap have advised to down grade my firmware, which i did and made no differance. Qnap are now saying its a usb issue (I've told them it powers the external harddrive) or my media server os. How can Twonky stop external drives showing up on QNAP ? They are telling me to rebuild it, but i don't really want to, seems very extreme.

Anyone have any advice (Please!!) ?

gbeer7
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:14 am
AV Hardware: QNAP ts-110

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by gbeer7 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:20 pm

Can anyone offer any help please ?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by phibertron » Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:22 pm

I don't think the issue is with twonky at all
The only thing that might be related would be to check the sleep setting on the NAS
and then check to see what Twonky has set for sleep

this is what it looks like in the twonkyserver.ini
# set to 1 to prevent server entering sleep mode
disablesleepmode=0
You can view what it is currently set to with an rpc call

Code: Select all

http://x.x.x.x:9000/rpc/get_option?disablesleepmode
You can also set it with this command

Code: Select all

http://x.x.x.x:9000/rpc/set_option?disablesleepmode=0
Outside of that, there isn't anything that I can think of that would cause the issue
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

gbeer7
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:14 am
AV Hardware: QNAP ts-110

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by gbeer7 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 6:06 pm

Hi phibertron,

Thank you so much for replying. I checked with the following, "http://192.168.0.7:9000/rpc/get_option?disablesleepmode"
and it is set to 0.

This is what QNAP support have said,

"Hi Graham,
There is a "?" in the end of my words.
In your case, since the external disk can works before, thus I don't think it's the compatibility issue which we usually have.
Firmware downgrade still can not recover this issue, then it possible the
1. External disk file format issue? No. since you refomrat it but still no luck.
2. NAS OS issue, possible and would you mind to reinitialize the NAS disk and reinstall a new NAS OS. Or find a new disk to intall a new NAS OS to test?
3. The hardware issue, possible.
That's all the possibilities."

It last worked on the 13th September this year. I don't get my its not seeing exernal device through QNAP backup.

How can i check the sleep setting on the NAS itself ? It gives power from the USB device, but says its not connected.

Stressing me out to be honest, i want to back up my data. Can't see it being a drive fault and concerned it might have damaged any files.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by phibertron » Wed Oct 08, 2014 8:10 pm

the first thing you need to determine is does the disk work somewhere else
no point in just doing it on the nas
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

gbeer7
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:14 am
AV Hardware: QNAP ts-110

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by gbeer7 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 8:16 pm

so both external drives i am using work fine when i plug them into my laptop. Spin up fine. In fact i've tried 3 external drives and all ok on my laptop.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by phibertron » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:36 pm

It sounds like the issue is the qnap os
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

gbeer7
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:14 am
AV Hardware: QNAP ts-110

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by gbeer7 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:03 pm

So would that be the firmware ?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by phibertron » Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:57 pm

yes, or its remotely possible that its hardware related on the nas mobo in some way
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

gbeer7
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:14 am
AV Hardware: QNAP ts-110

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by gbeer7 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:26 am

So I did downgrade the firmware to 3.8.3 and made no differance. My data files should be fine then ?
Might do a copy backup and think about upgrading the NAS.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by phibertron » Thu Oct 09, 2014 1:23 pm

bummer
I'd assume that they are, but I would check them before upgrading
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

gbeer7
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:14 am
AV Hardware: QNAP ts-110

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by gbeer7 » Thu Oct 09, 2014 2:21 pm

Shall i do a for hardware scan on the drive to make sure they are ok ? I have previous backups but worried it might have copied any problems over. Really making me anxious.

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Help ! Qnap telling me its a Twonky issue

Post by phibertron » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:28 pm

I would just in case
I know you have usb issue at the moment
but a nas isn't really backup, it can deal with most hardware failures, raid and such
I copy important stuff into cold storage, I actually use two disks, one for current backups, one for previous backups
and then I toggle them, so that I always have a previous backup just in case
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Post Reply