Does Twonky re-encode mp3 files when sending?

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
jacklemon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:44 pm

Does Twonky re-encode mp3 files when sending?

Post by jacklemon » Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:54 pm

Hi,

this definitely is a UPnP newbie question, sorry: Does TwonkyMedia re-encode mp3s when sending them to a UPnP media client?

Most of my mp3s are encoded with quite good quality, I'd like them to be streamed to my SL400i as they are.

Thanks, bye

-Jan

arachnos
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:29 pm

Post by arachnos » Tue Apr 11, 2006 9:36 am

Hi

No, there is no re-encoding, just streaming. Twonkyvision is "only" a server.

regards
Stephan
TwonkyServer 8.3 on Mac OS X 10.11.6 / MAC OS X 10.12
TwonkyServer 8.2.1.0 on QNAP TS-439 Pro II

jacklemon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:44 pm

Post by jacklemon » Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:48 am

that's great news! i just wasn't sure because i found a /twonkyvision/LAME file on my server, but it might be for shoutcast streaming etc.

thanks!!

Cheburashka
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:16 pm

Post by Cheburashka » Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:41 pm

It does re-encode (transcoding, its called) some file formats into mp3 if the player would otherwise be unable to handle them. I think its flac that gets transcoded, or maybe its wav. That's what lame is for.

User avatar
twonky-christian
Lynx Technology Staff
Posts: 1123
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:16 pm
AV Hardware: PC
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by twonky-christian » Sun May 21, 2006 8:43 am

Hi,

lame is used to transcode mp3 to LPCM - a requied format by the DLNA. But nothing for "pratical" use right now :-)

So do not worry - mp3 is not recoded or converted to other bitrates.

Thanks
Christian

Nigel
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 9:55 pm

Post by Nigel » Tue May 23, 2006 10:26 pm

Cheburashka wrote:It does re-encode (transcoding, its called) some file formats into mp3 if the player would otherwise be unable to handle them. I think its flac that gets transcoded, or maybe its wav. That's what lame is for.
I'm hoping someone from Twonkyvision will confirm if this is true.

If yes, is there a way to disable this function and just stream FLAC? I'm using a client (Z500) that claims to handle FLAC files. I'm hoping to listen to them without lossy compression.

Cheburashka
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:16 pm

Post by Cheburashka » Tue May 23, 2006 10:42 pm

Nigel wrote:
I'm hoping someone from Twonkyvision will confirm if this is true.

If yes, is there a way to disable this function and just stream FLAC? I'm using a client (Z500) that claims to handle FLAC files. I'm hoping to listen to them without lossy compression.
Its smart enough not to transcode for clients that don't require it.

User avatar
twonky-christian
Lynx Technology Staff
Posts: 1123
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:16 pm
AV Hardware: PC
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by twonky-christian » Fri Jul 21, 2006 6:45 am

Hi,

if the lame.exe ist there we can transcode mp3 to LPCM/WAV. If not we will not do this (so just delete the file). Lame is not used for ANY other transcoding.

If flac.exe is there we use this to transcode FLAC to WAV. There is no other use for the flac.exe. There is no flac to mp3 conversion. If still unwanted, just delete flac.exe

Thanks
Christian

jdc0730
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 6:59 pm

Post by jdc0730 » Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:57 pm

twonky-christian wrote:Hi,

if the lame.exe ist there we can transcode mp3 to LPCM/WAV. If not we will not do this (so just delete the file). Lame is not used for ANY other transcoding.

If flac.exe is there we use this to transcode FLAC to WAV. There is no other use for the flac.exe. There is no flac to mp3 conversion. If still unwanted, just delete flac.exe

Thanks
Christian
Are there any plans to support FLAC to MP3 conversion? I don't believe the XBOX 360 supports WAV files, although I could be wrong. With the speed burst gained from the lastest version, I would like to start using MediaServer with my 360. However, the vast majority of my collection is in FLAC.

User avatar
twonky-christian
Lynx Technology Staff
Posts: 1123
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:16 pm
AV Hardware: PC
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by twonky-christian » Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:41 pm

FLAC -> MP3 is not yet planned - but perhaps as a plugin....

duchski
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:27 pm

Forcing lame plugin to work...

Post by duchski » Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:04 pm

twonky-christian wrote:FLAC -> MP3 is not yet planned - but perhaps as a plugin....

I run 4.2b3 on NAS Linsktation II MIPS and user Philips as streaming clients... Is there any way to FORCE Twonky to reencode mp3 to LPCM even though Streamium can handle all mp3 formats? I would like to see if there is any quality difference?

User avatar
twonky-christian
Lynx Technology Staff
Posts: 1123
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:16 pm
AV Hardware: PC
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by twonky-christian » Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:38 am

no way to force the server

jtmckinley
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:22 pm

WAV on XBOX 360

Post by jtmckinley » Fri Jun 22, 2007 9:38 pm

twonky-christian wrote:FLAC -> MP3 is not yet planned - but perhaps as a plugin....
Could you please provide a WAV to MP3 plugin as well so we can play WAV files on the XBOX 360, I get a red circle with a line through it on all my WAV files (9000+) and cannot play them on the XBOX 360. Thanks.

Post Reply