Time to Rip! But which codec for multiple clients?

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
HDPete
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 11:46 am

Time to Rip! But which codec for multiple clients?

Post by HDPete » Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:59 pm

Well, a shoulder operation has rendered me housebound for a week, so the wife has kindly suggested that I rip the CD collection to the Terastation NAS (running Twonky 4.4b4).

I intend to use Exact Audio Copy (EAC) with AccurateRip and would like to use a lossless format for absolute best reproduction with my high end AV equipment.

My DLNA clients are a Roku Soundbridge M2000 and a PS3, both with the latest firmware.

It seems that the PS3 will not play .FLAC and the Roku will not play lossless WMA.

What are my other 'lossless' options with Twonky with this combination of clients?

Cheers in advance!
Pete

sansp00
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:12 pm
Location: Beloeil, Quebec
Contact:

Post by sansp00 » Tue Jul 17, 2007 5:20 pm

I would still go with FLAC, but use the transcoding plugin provided by Twonky. It's the lossless encoding which is the most widespread and accepted AFAIK.

My collection is presently in lossy, but if I had to do it again, I would go FLAC.
My 2 cents
Patrick S.
Roku HD1000 (Revived!), R1000, M1001 x2
Axiom M50Ti, QS4, CTC-20
D-BOX David 301
Yamaha RXV596, CDC-675, KXW492
JVC XVS40, HRVP56U, AV27D302
Logitech Harmony 880
Linksys NSLU2 x2 (320gig & 250gig W.D.)
Netgear WGR614,GS608,GS605 x3

HDPete
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 11:46 am

Post by HDPete » Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:23 pm

Cheers, but I don't think that the FLAC transcoding is available for the ARM procs of the Terastation / Linkstation (or are they>>?)

Pete.

sansp00
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:12 pm
Location: Beloeil, Quebec
Contact:

Post by sansp00 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:41 am

Good point, maybe someone from Twonky could respond to this one ...
Patrick S.
Roku HD1000 (Revived!), R1000, M1001 x2
Axiom M50Ti, QS4, CTC-20
D-BOX David 301
Yamaha RXV596, CDC-675, KXW492
JVC XVS40, HRVP56U, AV27D302
Logitech Harmony 880
Linksys NSLU2 x2 (320gig & 250gig W.D.)
Netgear WGR614,GS608,GS605 x3

User avatar
twonky-christian
Lynx Technology Staff
Posts: 1123
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:16 pm
AV Hardware: PC
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by twonky-christian » Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:20 am

nope

no FLAC there

go for WMA lossless - it has more support on the players than FLAC

sergiyz
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:29 am

Post by sergiyz » Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:49 am

twonky-christian wrote:nope

no FLAC there

go for WMA lossless - it has more support on the players than FLAC
I've tried both flac (using transcoder in cgi-bin) and wma lossless.
Both show as unsupported content on PS3.
Any suggestions ?

jensph
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 8:26 pm

Post by jensph » Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:08 pm

sergiyz wrote:I've tried both flac (using transcoder in cgi-bin) and wma lossless.
Both show as unsupported content on PS3.
Can you play a WMA lossless file on your PS3 from a thumbdrive?

Check your audio settings on the PS3. Make sure that WMA support is turned on.

sjm
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:48 pm

Post by sjm » Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:33 pm

IMO, stick with MP3. I know its not lossless, but if done properly, it is "transparent". Transparent meaning you can not distinguish a difference from the original. The thing is with MP3, you are pretty much guaranteed it will work in anything you play it in which is of huge importance to me. WMA 192K is also very good and very compatible. AAC is a very good codec, not quite as compatible.

Spend a little time at http://www.hydrogenaudio.org It is an excellent site that has a lot information on all the codecs, lossy and lossless.

sergiyz
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:29 am

Post by sergiyz » Wed Aug 22, 2007 12:03 am

sjm wrote:IMO, stick with MP3. I know its not lossless, but if done properly, it is "transparent". Transparent meaning you can not distinguish a difference from the original. The thing is with MP3, you are pretty much guaranteed it will work in anything you play it in which is of huge importance to me. WMA 192K is also very good and very compatible. AAC is a very good codec, not quite as compatible.

Spend a little time at http://www.hydrogenaudio.org It is an excellent site that has a lot information on all the codecs, lossy and lossless.
I don't care about MP3 at all.
It's a lossy format, and I *can* hear the difference.
In addition, I prefer to rip my CDs lossless as a backup and I certainly don't want to recompress them and keep another copy in MP3.
twonky guys already replied to me that neither flac nor wma lossless are available on PS3.
Definitely bad news.
I hope PS3 will play at least wma lossless eventually.
Otherwise I'll just buy a streaming box from these guys:
http://www.slimdevices.com/index.html?
and be done with it.

Post Reply