Twonky Media Server doesn't work after winter Xbox 360 updat

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
booyah169
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:26 am

Twonky Media Server doesn't work after winter Xbox 360 updat

Post by booyah169 » Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:29 am

I recently installed the mandatory Xbox 360 update and now Twonky no longer works.

I even tried installing a beta release to see if that fixed the problem but it did not.

What happens is, when I try to access my videos it says that I need to install Windows Media Connect and Twonky isn't even recognized.

Thanks.

booyah169
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:26 am

Post by booyah169 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:16 pm

Nobody has experienced this problem yet?

walshchristopherj
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:33 pm

Post by walshchristopherj » Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:47 pm

I updated my XBOX 360 and everything worked fine just as before. I was using Twonky 4.4.2 on a Maxtor Shared Storage Plus. I just updated the Twonky software to 4.4.3RC3 and now I can't view Xvid videos anymore but everything else works great.

booyah169
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:26 am

Post by booyah169 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:12 pm

Well ever since the update Twonky is not recognized.

Anyone have any ideas?

It doesn't even see Twonky running for me to select.

booyah169
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:26 am

Post by booyah169 » Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:31 pm

This really sucks for me because I actually bought Twonky and now I can't even use it. I've verified that the IP address is correct of my 360 but the 360 just does not see it.

Just to verify, all I need to do is have the server running and my Xbox 360 should automatically see it when I select "computers" in my Xbox 360 setup menu?

Leg-end
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:13 pm

Post by Leg-end » Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:52 pm

booyah169 wrote:This really sucks for me because I actually bought Twonky and now I can't even use it. I've verified that the IP address is correct of my 360 but the 360 just does not see it.

Just to verify, all I need to do is have the server running and my Xbox 360 should automatically see it when I select "computers" in my Xbox 360 setup menu?
Try going to the settings pane and click on disconnect computer ( I think thats what is called, no 360 in front of me ) then try to reconnect.

See if that helps, no guarantees. :D

booyah169
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:26 am

Post by booyah169 » Fri Dec 21, 2007 9:05 pm

Yes, I tried that before and it did not help.

Leg-end
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:13 pm

Post by Leg-end » Fri Dec 21, 2007 9:44 pm

Firewall ?

booyah169
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:26 am

Post by booyah169 » Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:28 am

No, I have a router and it's wired directly into it.

daviec
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 2:02 pm

Post by daviec » Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:55 am

I'm having the same problem. Twonky (running on an NSLU2) doesn't even appear. I always have problems after a 360 update, but I've always managed to reconnect, but this time it's different. Usually I would tell the 360 to make a new connection and while it's searching for computers quickly restart the twonky server which forces it to be picked up. This hasn't worked this time. For now I'll need to make do with having my laptop connected through media player, but I can't stream video this way as my laptop and 360 are both connected wirelessly.

acaciolo
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:26 pm

Post by acaciolo » Sat Dec 22, 2007 6:18 pm

I posted something like this over in the other hardware forum.

I am using a qnap 209, and the xbox won't see it all. all fo the ps3s and other pcs can see Twonky on the qnap no problem...but the xbox won't see it at all.

Anybody have any suggestions?

stankaaron
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:09 pm

Select source

Post by stankaaron » Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:14 pm

Excuse me if I'm being Captain Obvious here, but I had the same problem where I was selecting "Videos" or "Music" on the Media tab in the xbox menu and I was seeing no content.

After the update MS changed the way the Media menu works and instead of asking me for the video source, they were just defaulting to the console hard drive. I had to press "X" to select a different source and then choose my NAS running Twonky.

For some reason I also had to sign into xbox live and re-download the codec to play MPEG4, but everything seems to be working normally again now. I'm running TwonkyServer version 4.4.

joeyramone
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:21 pm

Post by joeyramone » Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:28 pm

I'm having this exact problem, Xbox 360 won't even see Twonky server

declank
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:06 pm

Post by declank » Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:37 pm

Yep, having the same problem here.

If I go into devices in the Twonky advanced config, it has the XBOX 360 IP address and says it see's thedevice as an XBOX, however nothing showing on the XBOX's PC browser.

Bummer, as I've just bought my first 360 and never had the pleasure of getting this working.

Just as well I've got my KISS 1600 to back me up. 8)

joeyramone
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:21 pm

Post by joeyramone » Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:53 pm

I'm using t a KISS 1600 as well and that's working perfectly. At a complete loss as to where to go from here. :(

Toxic
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:17 pm

Post by Toxic » Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:21 pm

when you goto the Media Blade in X Box you need to select the Device (go into Videos, Press X (blue) on the xbox contoller, then select twonky, thats all I done.

xbox fall update and twonky 4.4.2/4.4.3 and now 4.4.4 works fine, from the very first day I got the xbox fall update.
Regards Simon
http://www.linksysinfo.org
Synology CS-407 Firmware: 2.0 - 0726 : Drives: 4 x Samsung HD501LJ SATA II 500GB RAID5 : Xbox360

declank
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:06 pm

Post by declank » Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:30 pm

Are you sure it worked with 4.4.2? as I'm not able to update Twonky to latest as I use a Linux-NAS device.

declank
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:06 pm

Post by declank » Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:00 am

This is what I got from Twonky support.

Support Team <support>

Hi,

sorry - no - we are unable to reproduce this

Thanks
The TwonkyMedia Team

PacketVideo Germany GmbH
Kurfürstendamm 22, D-10719 Berlin
phone: +49 (30) 88772300
fax: +49 (30) 88772301
internet: http://www.pv.com
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Amtsgericht Charlottenburg HRB 103276 B
Geschäftsführer: Joel Espelien

joeyramone
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:21 pm

Post by joeyramone » Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:40 am

Thats not looking good then. Is there a way to force the xbox to search for new computers, from what i can see they should show up automatically but i'm not convinced that it is even looking.

declank
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:06 pm

Post by declank » Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:29 pm

Not sure. Maybe take the power lead out of the XBOX and re-power.

Just trying to find the common item that may be causing the issue.

Heres what I'm running (Can others with the problem please post the same)

XBOX Elite with latest update - Wired to network

Twonky 4.4.2 on an FSG - Wired to network

Leg-end
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:13 pm

Post by Leg-end » Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:50 pm

joeyramone wrote:Thats not looking good then. Is there a way to force the xbox to search for new computers, from what i can see they should show up automatically but i'm not convinced that it is even looking.
If I remember rightly in the settings pane there is a option for disconnecting the computer and after this when you go back to the media pane the xbox looks for new computers.

joeyramone
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:21 pm

Post by joeyramone » Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:51 pm

Haven't tried pulling the power lead, that's just about the only option i've not tried.

As far as disconnecting the computer, that's a none starter as it isn't there in the first place i'm afraid.

Any other thoughts or ideas gratefully received.

declank
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:06 pm

Post by declank » Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:10 pm

Sorted it!

After firmware update my FSG it went back to Router mode.

Changed this back to Switch mode and XBOX is streaming like a dream.

So what does this mean to you?

Make sure there is only one DHCP server and router on your network.

Make sure the Twonky Server host is getting its network details from DHCP rather than being manually entered.

Let me know if this has fixed your problem.

tranott
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 3:31 am

XBOX 360 and MP4 video files

Post by tranott » Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:05 pm

Can any of you XBOX 360 owners play MP4 video files via Twonky - anything with an MP4 extension will not show up in the folder structure on my 360.

Andy

edutek
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:09 pm

Post by edutek » Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:45 am

No, MP4 wouldn't work for me, but i think i was able to view the files on my 360 just by changing the file ext to .wmv

hth

declank
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:06 pm

Re: Twonky Media Server doesn't work after winter Xbox 360 updat

Post by declank » Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:13 pm

Mine stopped working and I tried everything.

Then turned out my clock was out of date on the server hosting twonky.

Xbox picks it up straight away now. Phew!

Another fix!! = p

Post Reply