Possible Memory Leak

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
doubrown
Possible Memory Leak

Post by doubrown » Tue Jan 01, 2008 4:46 pm

I've been using Twonky Media Server for two years. Over the past few months I noticed that the performance of my Windows XP machine has become very poor. I finally got around to looking into the problem and it appears that Twonky Media Server is consuming huge amounts of memory, forcing the system into continous page file swaps to the hard drive. The problem goes away if I shut down Twonky Media Server. I am currently running version 4.3.3. Downgrading to a previous version does not solve the problem. I have also tried completely uninstalling Twonky Media Server, and deleting all of the files in the \Documents and
Settings\...\Application Data\TwonkyMedia directory, and then reinstalling.

Task Manager shows low available physical memory and high swap file usage. The swap file usage declines when Twonky Media Server shuts down and increase when it is started back up.

As per the suggestion of another thread, I am using simple navigation. My library is not all that big (6,000 music files being shared).

Any suggestions of what to try?

doubrown

Post by doubrown » Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:41 am

OK I've got some more info. I turned on all logging. I don't see anything that indicates a problem other than it takes a very long time to scan the contents in the directory. I let Twonky run uniteruppted and it took almost 4 days to add the 6,000 songs in my content directory.

I also tried the new 4.4.4 beta and did not notice any difference.

wideasleep1

Post by wideasleep1 » Mon Jan 07, 2008 2:26 am

doubrown wrote:OK I've got some more info. I turned on all logging. I don't see anything that indicates a problem other than it takes a very long time to scan the contents in the directory. I let Twonky run uniteruppted and it took almost 4 days to add the 6,000 songs in my content directory.