Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
Kos
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Kos » Wed May 27, 2009 7:29 am

Anyone out there with a wifi photoframe working with Twonky on a NAS/PC? Please let me know the exact name of the photoframe!

/Kos
Setup: D-link635/Linksys(wifi), PhilipsSLA5520/Noxon iRadio, Sonos ZP90+ZP120+S5+CR200, iPod Touch & iPad2, Twonky6.0.30(server), MaxtorSS+/Qnap TS-109+112 (NAS'es), MediaMonkey 4(media manager)

Georg
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:13 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Linkstation Pro (production) with Twonky 6.0.1 +
Linkstation Pro (developer) with Twonky 6.0.23
Clients:
Kathrein UFS 822 (pvr sat receiver, upnp-client?)
Philips TV PFL9604
WD TV Live
Roku Linkstation
Philips WLAN photo frame

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Georg » Thu May 28, 2009 12:19 pm

Last Christmas I configured the Philips photo frame 8ff3wmi as present for my mother. During the test runs at my home it connected to my Twonky installations without any issues. Also navigation and photo shows were straight forward with acceptable change times.

dholldorff
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:45 pm
AV Hardware: NAS: Synology Disk Station 107+, 1 TB, Firmware DSM 3.0-1342,Twonky Server 4.4.17
TV: Philips 37PF9731D/10
Sat Reciever: Humax iCord 500 MB
Picture Frame: 8" Philips Wireless Digital PhotoFrame 8FF3WMI/00
DVD Home Entertainment System: Denon S302
Router: AVM Fritz!Box 7390
Location: I'm in Germany for the second half of my life

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by dholldorff » Sat May 30, 2009 2:53 am

Georg wrote:Last Christmas I configured the Philips photo frame 8ff3wmi as present for my mother. During the test runs at my home it connected to my Twonky installations without any issues. Also navigation and photo shows were straight forward with acceptable change times.
Same here! The only issue with the photo frame is that it only shuffles the stream the first time it runs. This means that if you have the same photos automatically coming from your server on consecutive days, the first day the photos will show up in a mixed up order (if you have configured the photo frame to shuffle), whereas on the second (or nth consecutive) day the photos will show in (alphanumerical?) order . Philips service says this is an known issue with the photo frame firmware. Other than this, I'm very happy with it.

My TwonkyMediaServer runs on the Synology 107+ NAS. As the Synology Multimedia software is not DLNA compatible, I use TwonkyMedia inofficially. The NAS is no longer available though, and the current xx9 series uses a different processor, so that Twonky is not installable. I'd go for one of Twonky's partners on the NAS-Market, if I were you. If I were buying my NAS today, I'd go for a QNAP.

Good luck!

Daphne
NAS: Synology Disk Station 107+ 2 TB, Firmware DSM 3.1-1613, TwonkyServer 6.0.32
TV: Philips 37PF9731D/10
8" Philips Wireless Digital PhotoFrame 8FF3WMI/00
DVD Home Entertainment System: Denon S-302
Blue Ray Player: Philips BRD 7500/S2

Benneton
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:01 am
AV Hardware: Buffalo Terastation, firmware 2.17 login enabled. Twonky 4.17
Kodak EX811
Philips SL400i
Sonos ZP90
Tangent Quattro MKII

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Benneton » Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:04 am

Daphne,

Can you tell me if the photo frame automatically connects on startup to mediaserver, Twonky in this case?
I currently have a Kodak EX811, which streams the pictures okay from Twonky but everytime it startsup I need to connect manually to the mediaserver....
If it does connect at startup I considering buying this philips photo frame.

Thank you for your support.

Bernard
Buffalo Terastation, firmware 2.17 login enabled. Twonky 4.4.17
Kodak EX811
Philips SL400i
Sonos ZP90
Tangent Quattro MKII

dholldorff
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:45 pm
AV Hardware: NAS: Synology Disk Station 107+, 1 TB, Firmware DSM 3.0-1342,Twonky Server 4.4.17
TV: Philips 37PF9731D/10
Sat Reciever: Humax iCord 500 MB
Picture Frame: 8" Philips Wireless Digital PhotoFrame 8FF3WMI/00
DVD Home Entertainment System: Denon S302
Router: AVM Fritz!Box 7390
Location: I'm in Germany for the second half of my life

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by dholldorff » Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:07 pm

Bernard,

The Philips Photo Frame goes to standby at midnight - as I have set it up to do - and turns itself on at 6 am - also according to plan. It connects and shows photos - also as it should! I'm very happy with it.

That said, it does NOT connect to - or even see - TwonkyMediaServer version 5. I use TMS 4.4.17 now. It has also worked beautifully with 4.4.11 and 4.4.14.

Have fun!

Daphne
NAS: Synology Disk Station 107+ 2 TB, Firmware DSM 3.1-1613, TwonkyServer 6.0.32
TV: Philips 37PF9731D/10
8" Philips Wireless Digital PhotoFrame 8FF3WMI/00
DVD Home Entertainment System: Denon S-302
Blue Ray Player: Philips BRD 7500/S2

Benneton
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:01 am
AV Hardware: Buffalo Terastation, firmware 2.17 login enabled. Twonky 4.17
Kodak EX811
Philips SL400i
Sonos ZP90
Tangent Quattro MKII

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Benneton » Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:30 pm

Daphne,

That is great news! Now I can get this frame and start showing pictures again.

Bernard

The Cat
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:07 pm
AV Hardware: QNAP TS-119

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by The Cat » Mon Apr 05, 2010 1:09 pm

The philips photoframe now works with twonky5. Read here how to solve the issue:
http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=1 ... 66#p121966
After I applied this the photoframe worked again. This was driving me crazy.

ThyMaster
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:47 am

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by ThyMaster » Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:14 pm

AFAIK there are NO wireless DLNA-compatible digi-frames on the market any more!
All you can do is look for used/refurbished ones (or lasted stock stuff).

- ThyMaster

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Bascy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:50 pm

[quote="ThyMaster"]AFAIK there are NO wireless DLNA-compatible digi-frames on the market any more!
All you can do is look for used/refurbished ones (or lasted stock stuff).

- ThyMaster[/quote]

Has there been any change in this situation since you posted this?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:42 pm

If you take a look at the dlna website, under products

http://www.dlna.org/products

and choose Photo Frame under Product Categories
The only two they list that are dlna certified are

BUFFALO Wi-Fi Digital Photo Frame PF-50WG
http://certification.dlna.org/certs/REG37528078.pdf

Philips G3 Wi-Fi Photo Frame 8FF3WMI
http://certification.dlna.org/certs/REG33502604.pdf

Does this mean they are the only two that will work, probably not
But it "should" mean that these two will work
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Bascy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:48 pm

these two are both discontinued

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:58 pm

That I got from the thread, I was just showing you what devices were certified
All others are not, meaning they may or may not work

Have you looked at either the Kodak EX1011 or the D-Link DSM-210
as some posts indicate that they will work with dlna servers

I'm just doing google searches for "dlna picture frame" to see what's out there for info etc.
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Bascy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:13 pm

thanks for the suggestiosn.

I'm looking into the Ex1011 and DLink devices at the moment and it does get mentioned a lot on this forum and instruction videos .. .but i think they are rather expensive, and i see lots of reports of problems with reconnecting to the Twonkyserver after switching off and on.

Google searches for exactly the same words (and lots of others) havent given me any other devices yet ... but if you do, please let me knwo

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:20 pm

Yeah, the amount of dlna picture frames out there is pathetic

Will do, If I see something, or hear of something, will post it here
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:52 pm

One thing Im starting to pick up on is
that most of the wifi enabled pciture frames that are web enabled in some way
are able to leverage rss feeds from certain sites
I could see this being possibly leveraged with twonky's rss capabilites
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Bascy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:01 pm

But RSS only "publishes" new things isn't it?
I would like to have the frame show all pictures randomly at all times

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:11 pm

I have a folder that has 816 photos in it
When I browse for that folder via rss
and say the end result of that feed is as follows

http://192.168.100.200:9000/rss/feed/0$2$151.rss

I can see all 816 photos in that rss feed
If new things were added, then it is updated to include those to the list
Not sure how twonky does what it does in that regard
But in any case, when I look at it from an rss point of view
It will always show all contents
Unless I am using an rss readerm that is looking for changes/updates
to alert me that some have been made

The client devices that are leverageing rss,
are probably not doing update checks, to show only new things
they are probably doing an all items in the return, but this is a guess
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Bascy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:15 pm

Ok, that would mean it could work :-)
But .. I have over 5000 pics .. wouldnt that be a performance problem?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:19 pm

all 5000 in one folder?

Also, I just noticed this on the rss feed

http://192.168.100.200:9000/disk/DLNA-P ... le=160x120

Not sure yet why the rss feed is adding ?scale=160x120 to the link for the image
If I remove the ?scale=160x120, then the image shows correctly

Now that is a twonky thing, I have to see if its client.db thing or an rss thing
I dont have a picture frame, so testing is being done via web browser

But yeah the rss thing could/should work
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Bascy
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 pm
AV Hardware: ReadyNas DUO - Two Android Phones

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by Bascy » Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:14 pm

Not all 5000 in one folder but it has to choose from them


Btw i cannot test your links as they contain a local address 192

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:23 pm

replace <yourserveripaddress> with the ip address of your twonky server

http://<yourserveripaddress>:9000/rss

this will give you the main rss page

99% of the time http://<yourserveripaddress>::9000/rss/feed/0$2.rss
will be the root of photo's
and will show whatever containers, the webbrowse page will show
it is just doing it via rss links as opposed to just http links
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Wifi photoframe and Twonky... does it work?

Post by phibertron » Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:25 pm

phibertron wrote:all 5000 in one folder?

Also, I just noticed this on the rss feed

http://192.168.100.200:9000/disk/DLNA-P ... le=160x120

Not sure yet why the rss feed is adding ?scale=160x120 to the link for the image
If I remove the ?scale=160x120, then the image shows correctly

Now that is a twonky thing, I have to see if its client.db thing or an rss thing
I dont have a picture frame, so testing is being done via web browser

But yeah the rss thing could/should work
havent looked at the scale problem in a while, but it appears to be "fixed", since when im not sure
but as of 6.0.34
It appears for the most part that I can see, it is not scaleing of images in the url or the image
yeah =)
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Post Reply