Transcoding Apple Lossless To Play On PS3

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Locked
nicksimpson
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 2:55 pm
AV Hardware: Twonky Server 5

Transcoding Apple Lossless To Play On PS3

Post by nicksimpson » Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:03 pm

Dear All,

I have posted a support ticket about this, but Twonky support has not deigned to reply to date.

I am trying to play apple lossless (ALAC) format files on the PS3, using the transcoding feature of Twonky (which is hosted on a Mac Mini). I have made the entry for M4A in the transcoding DB, pointed the mplayer location file to the binary, run the command-line through the binary (to check it works), and created a desc file for the transcoding.

The PS3 fails to recognise the file, although the file and tags appear correctly on the PS3. When you try to play the file, it gives an error regarding unsupported format.

Has anybody managed to get transcoding of apple lossless files working correctly on Twonky?

Kind Regards,

Nick.

mediumsam
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:13 am
AV Hardware: WD mybook world I whitelight
Twonky 5.1.9
Optware Twonky 7.0.9 special mss2
PS3 firmware 4.21
Sony Bravia KDL 32EX600

Re: Transcoding Apple Lossless To Play On PS3

Post by mediumsam » Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:00 am

I am trying to do something similar with ALAC - WAV. My music collection is apple lossless. ALAC files are in M4A extension. However I am stuck and I can't get it to work. I have upgraded my WD Worldbook I (whitelight) with Twonky 7.0.9 Special NAS using this guide
http://mybookworld.wikidot.com/forum/t- ... book-world
This is what I have done so far.

Used putty to SSH WD mybook world's IP

ipkg install alac-decoder (downloaded and installed alac-decoder 0.1.0-2)
alac decoder installed to /opt/bin/alac

I have created alac-wav.desc in /usr/local/twonky/cgi-bin/

#transcode audio
exec: alac $infile -f output.wav $outfile
#capabilities
from=audio/mp4a
to=audio/x-wav
synchronous
priority=idle

I have also created alac.location in /usr/local/twonky/cgi-bin/

/opt/bin/alac

I made both files executable
chmod +x /usr/local/twonky/cgi-bin/alac-wav.desc
chmod +x /usr/local/twonky/cgi-bin/alac.location

in /usr/local/twonky/resources/transcoding.db I have added this under #Additional audio res

M4A,m4a,mp4a,audio/mp4a

I have cleared the cache and restarted twonky server. I am very new to putty coding and don't know where I have gone wrong or how to fix. Can anyone help?

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Transcoding Apple Lossless To Play On PS3

Post by phibertron » Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:32 pm

1st big question is (I dont have any alac files, will try and create one)

How do we know that alca files are identified as audio/mp4a?

Also, take a look at my two replies here

http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 607#p41607
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

User avatar
phibertron
Posts: 1566
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:52 pm
AV Hardware: Hardware
========
WHS - HP Ex495
PS3
XBOX 360
iTouch - Gen 2 and Gen 3
PSP - 3000

Encoders
========
Handbrake
x264
ffmpeg
mencoder

Tagging
======
mp3tag

Re: Transcoding Apple Lossless To Play On PS3

Post by phibertron » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:56 pm

Take a look at this post here

http://community.twonky.com/twonky/topi ... ype_is_m4a

I got it working, on a windows, box, havnet tired it on the nas yet, on the todo list
But the changes would be the similiar
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10627
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9353
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9408
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9416
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9424
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9364
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9497

Locked