Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by tobias » Sun Sep 13, 2009 9:08 am

Hello,
after upgrade to TMS 5.1 (linux) (from 5.0.68) my Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see the TMS anymore. Please advice.
- What was changed?
- Where can I help to locate the issue (logfiles do not indicate problems)?
- Do you still plan to support "older" UPnP clients like the Philips Streamium TVs?

Thanks,
Tobias

RG1
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:42 am
AV Hardware: Philips Streamium WAC 7500
Philips Streamium WAS 7500
Philips Streamium WAC 6050
Philips Streamium NP 2900

Re: Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by RG1 » Sun Sep 13, 2009 5:57 pm

Hi,
the philips network players NP2x00 have problems to see the twonky server if the ip address in twonky config-file is not set. The network players have problems if twonky uses also ip-address of loopback device (127.0.0.1). You can check the interfaces used by twonky in twonky web interface. You can set the ip for your twonky server with rpc call functionality from your web browser (http://twonky-ip:9000/rpc/set_option?ip=twonky-ip). For twonky-ip you have to use ip-address of your twonky server. May be that fixes the problem for your tv also.

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Re: Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by tobias » Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:06 pm

RG1 wrote:Hi,
the philips network players NP2x00 have problems to see the twonky server if the ip address in twonky config-file is not set.
Hi there, thanks for the reply. Actually the ip adress was not set in my ini file. I changed it to the IP of the server. Unfortunately that did not solve my problem. I would have been surprised actually since the issue came up with 5.1 - with TMS 5.0.68 and earlier versions I had no issues (at least no connection problems :o ).
Tobias

RG1
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:42 am
AV Hardware: Philips Streamium WAC 7500
Philips Streamium WAS 7500
Philips Streamium WAC 6050
Philips Streamium NP 2900

Re: Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by RG1 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:23 pm

Hi,
the only difference i can find is that TMS 5.1 uses a dlna 1.5 device-description. But you can change that behavior if your device is not dlna 1.5. You can put the line DF:devicedescription-dlna-1-0.xml in the clients.db file in section Philips Streamium AV. After this your tv should get a dlna 1.0 device-description.

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Re: Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by tobias » Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:32 pm

Thanks, I will try and test this asap (will take some days),
Best regards,
tobias

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Re: Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by tobias » Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:47 pm

OK - thank you so much for the help. I have it working again! :D
I belive that it has been a combination of the two hints that you had given. Fixing only one of the two did not do the trick.
So for the Philips PF series streamium TVs I would suggest the following changes to the client.db:
1. To prevent that a dlna 1.5 device-description is sent add line DF:devicedescription-dlna-1-0.xml
2. To fix the JPEG scaling issue change the lines to
TR:JPEG_HD,MP3,WAV,WMV,JPEG138x103
XM:NOTRPICS
3. Make sure that twonky-ip is not set to localhost or none. http://twonky-ip:9000/rpc/set_option?ip=twonky-ip). For twonky-ip you have to use ip-address of your twonky server.

My client.db section looks now like this:

>>
NA:Philips Streamium AV
HH:Philips-Software-WebClient
XM:PHILIPSSRT
XM:SMALLIDS
MT:avi,divx video/x-ms-avi
HP:LIVEWITHLENGTH
TR:JPEG_HD,MP3,WAV,WMV,JPEG138x103
XM:NOTRPICS
XM:PHILIPS
XM:DLNANO
DB:FIX
DF:devicedescription-dlna-1-0.xml

The 5.1 server is seen by the TV again and pictures are displayed in full screen again.
Thanks,
Tobias

PeterHaar
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:44 pm
AV Hardware: WD MyBook Worls Edition II
Philips 42PFL7665H
PC: Windows Vista

Re: Philips TV 42PF9731/10 does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by PeterHaar » Fri Oct 08, 2010 11:00 pm

I have scaling issue of Twonky Server with my Philips TV.
I well recognized the comments to modify clients.db file.

However,
could kindly somebody let me know HOW i can see / load / modify the clients.db file from my WINDOWS Vistaa PC connected to the WD Mybook Worksl Edition (which is running the Twonky Server)?

Thanks for any help!

Regards
Peter

Post Reply