Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
adz2326
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:58 am
AV Hardware: SpeedTouch Router
Philips Tv (42PF9831D/10)
PS3
MyBook

Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by adz2326 » Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:44 am

Hi
I have a WD MyBook World Edition connected on my network. I use its build in Twonky media server to view movies on my Philips Tv which I have connected to the network. It used to work fine until I updated. Now the server doesn't show up on my tv. It shows up on my PS3 which I have connected to another tv upstairs but not to the main tv downstairs. All my network is wired. Please Advice

san
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:57 pm
AV Hardware: WD My Worldbook (WhiteLight Edition)
Location: Center Italy

Re: Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by san » Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:13 am

if you go in the twoky menu where devices are listed, can you see the ip address of the mac address of your tv?
if not the tv's lost the lan, so reconfigure tv lan address
if yes you can try to reset the device list in twonky device menu)
Sante

adz2326
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:58 am
AV Hardware: SpeedTouch Router
Philips Tv (42PF9831D/10)
PS3
MyBook

Re: Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by adz2326 » Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:49 am

san wrote:if you go in the twoky menu where devices are listed, can you see the ip address of the mac address of your tv?
if not the tv's lost the lan, so reconfigure tv lan address
if yes you can try to reset the device list in twonky device menu)
Sante
Thanks for the advice but unfortunately it did not work. I can see the MAC address of the TV as well as the IP address in the twoky menu where devices are listed but it still doesn't show up in the tv
Adam

san
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:57 pm
AV Hardware: WD My Worldbook (WhiteLight Edition)
Location: Center Italy

Re: Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by san » Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:36 pm

but you reset the device in the Twonky menu?
if yes you can also reset (various problem twonky menu) the database
if not works and if you know basic unix; set an ssl connection with putty pc client and stop e start the server from prompt with this two commands

>/twonky/twonkymedia.sh stop

>/twonky/twonkymedia.sh start

if not works after that the only think is to reupgrade manually the twonky

if you have a blu ring WD mybook you have to install the libarm version of 5.1
if you have a whitelight edition instead you've to upgrade using maxtor mss2 version

if you are a unix base expert, the steps are

download the right version from the unsupported link thread that you can find in the forum

copy the zip file to the wd using an ftp command or direct from pc to the public wd folder
then with putty client enter to wd in unix root (user:root pwd: welc0me and then >cd /) prompt and copy the file from /shares/Public to /twonky (cp -r /shares/Public/filetwonkyver.zip /twonky/)

copy the original /twonky/twonkymediaserver.ini file in the Public directory (backup is needed the file stores the license)

then go in the /twonky dir and unzip the file and when prompted maintain release history appear type [A] option

then stop and restart server from prompt with the above command line

if not work you can use this metod to downgrade to 4.4.18 release

tobias
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:59 am

Re: Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by tobias » Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:35 pm

Hi,

did you have a look at my post here
http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6759
?

I believe that the following changes are necessary in order to make the streamium TVs working with TMS 5.1:

So for the Philips PF series streamium TVs I would suggest the following changes to the client.db:
1. To prevent that a dlna 1.5 device-description is sent add line DF:devicedescription-dlna-1-0.xml
2. To fix the JPEG scaling issue change the lines to
TR:JPEG_HD,MP3,WAV,WMV,JPEG138x103
XM:NOTRPICS
3. Make sure that twonky-ip is not set to localhost or none. http://twonky-ip:9000/rpc/set_option?ip=twonky-ip). For twonky-ip you have to use ip-address of your twonky server.

My client.db section looks now like this:

>>
NA:Philips Streamium AV
HH:Philips-Software-WebClient
XM:PHILIPSSRT
XM:SMALLIDS
MT:avi,divx video/x-ms-avi
HP:LIVEWITHLENGTH
TR:JPEG_HD,MP3,WAV,WMV,JPEG138x103
XM:NOTRPICS
XM:PHILIPS
XM:DLNANO
DB:FIX
DF:devicedescription-dlna-1-0.xml

Especially the twonky-ip / localhost issue did the trick for my Philips TV.

Tobias

SoliGo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:42 am
AV Hardware: Western Digital MyBook World 1 TB (white rings)
Philips 47PFL8404H
TEAC WAP-4500
dnt IPmicro

Re: Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by SoliGo » Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:42 pm

Hi,

I tried this and now my NAS WD MyBook World (with Twonky Media Server 5.1) is found by my Philips 47PFL8404H always and immediately.
But I still have the problem that my JPEG pictures are not displayed or sometimes displayed small (preview) although I exactly edited the file /twonky/resources/clients.db as described by Tobias.
The TV is recognized as "Generic DLNA 1.0" but not as "Philips Streamium AV" so I am not sure if the changes are recognized. If I change this in the server configuration manually the TV doesn't find the server anymore. Maybe the is different for the PFL TV's.

Does anybody have an idea? Thanks for help in advance.

Gottfried

st.eh
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:41 pm
AV Hardware: WD MyBook World Edition

Re: Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by st.eh » Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:22 pm

SoliGo wrote:Hi,

I tried this and now my NAS WD MyBook World (with Twonky Media Server 5.1) is found by my Philips 47PFL8404H always and immediately.
But I still have the problem that my JPEG pictures are not displayed or sometimes displayed small (preview) although I exactly edited the file /twonky/resources/clients.db as described by Tobias.
The TV is recognized as "Generic DLNA 1.0" but not as "Philips Streamium AV" so I am not sure if the changes are recognized. If I change this in the server configuration manually the TV doesn't find the server anymore. Maybe the is different for the PFL TV's.

Does anybody have an idea? Thanks for help in advance.

Gottfried

Hi!

I've got simlar problems after upgrading WDMyBook to the new firmware including Twonky 5.1:
Very small JPEG pictures on the LCD-TV (as large as postage stamps...); shown size is approximately 160x100 pixels.
But the main problem is, that the Twonky Media Server Configuration site in the browser since V5.1 no longer offers detailed possibilities to configure settings for video streaming (e.g. the frame rate) or picture settings.
It seems that only "beginner-settings" were available!


If anyone can help, I would be very delighted!


Thanx!

Stephan
Attachments
Twonky_Screenshot.jpg
Twonky media server configuration site
Twonky_Screenshot.jpg (103.11 KiB) Viewed 4832 times

andrease
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:05 pm
AV Hardware: WD MyBook World II (White Light) 2TB

Re: Philips TV 42PF9831D/10does not see TMS after upgrade to 5.1

Post by andrease » Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:59 pm

Hi!
I have kind of a simular problem.
After upgrading to the latest firmwares on the MyBook World II (White light),
my Roku Soundbridge says: "I Found a non compatible music server"!!!
This happend after upgrading to 5.1. The 4.x version worked fine!
Also the browsing of .jpg files on my PS3 are very very slow.
Unfortanately WD won't let my downgrade the firmware (wich I can't find anywere, anyhow...)
But does someone now how to just downgrade the TMS?
I am kind of a newbe on Linux, but I have computer knowledge...
PLEASE HELP ME!!! :-)

/Andreas

Post Reply