DB rebuild

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
dinykid
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:14 pm
AV Hardware: DNS-323

DB rebuild

Post by dinykid » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:32 am

Hi
I'm running 5.1.2 on my D-link DNS 323 and haven't tried any other version. When I restart media server, The DB totaly rebuild. I'm not shore that should be the way or is it?

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: DB rebuild

Post by Twonky_Rick » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:36 am

No. The database should not be rebuilt every time.

- Rick

dinykid
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:14 pm
AV Hardware: DNS-323

Re: DB rebuild

Post by dinykid » Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:58 am

Hi

What to do then?

/Dick

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: DB rebuild

Post by Twonky_Rick » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:06 am

You might want to try disabling auto-rescan. IF that doesn't work, you might have to wait for a firmware update with a new server build. I'm not a server expert however, there are people here who might have a better suggestion.

- Rick

JAB
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:18 pm
AV Hardware: -

Re: DB rebuild

Post by JAB » Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:06 am

Also on a Qnap NAS, with pre-installed TMS 5.1.2, the database is totally rebuild after every server re-start.

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: DB rebuild

Post by Twonky_Rick » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:31 pm

I'll make sure our developers are aware of this. Thanks.

- Rick

Twonky-Rene

Re: DB rebuild

Post by Twonky-Rene » Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:44 pm

Thank you for your reports.
So far we could not reproduce this problem here.

Could you elaborate how you identified, that the server rebuild the complete database compared to doing just a rescan?

Best regards,

René

JAB
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:18 pm
AV Hardware: -

Re: DB rebuild

Post by JAB » Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:06 pm

I'll give it a try. :wink:

When I press "Restart Server" the same happens when I press "Rebuild database".
On the "Server status" page the Chached Memory for my database is about 2100KB with approx. 5400 Music tracks.
After pressing "Restart Server" both numbers are reset, meaning Chached Memory starts with approx. 230KB and Music Tracks start with 0 (zero). At "Last database change" the directory names appear with a + sign before it. After a few minutes the scanning process is completed.

This whole process happens after each change that needs a server restart.

Each time when the server is restarted, all marks before all mediaplayers are lost (blanks) and I also have to mark my mediaplayer again for sharing.

JAB
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:18 pm
AV Hardware: -

Re: DB rebuild

Post by JAB » Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:23 pm

Addition to above: When I press "Reset network clients" (make the list of mediaplayers empty) then also the database is rebuild (the same happened as described above).

dinykid
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:14 pm
AV Hardware: DNS-323

Re: DB rebuild

Post by dinykid » Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:47 pm

I have change to 5.1.3-dev version and the application behave as it did before, no changes! :(

Alfg
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:04 am
AV Hardware: Phillips 40PFL9704H/12
Phillips 32PFL9604H/12

Re: DB rebuild

Post by Alfg » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:20 am

I'll have the same problem with Media Server 5.1.3. Everytime I restart the server the database is rebuild. With my music-library it needs more than 3hours to collect all data. :(
And everytime I start the computer the database is rebuild again :(
The cache memory size has to be build up to nealy 71000KB and the rebuild gets slower and slower the more data the server has scanned.
I can see that in the Server Status window.
This happens with Windows7 64Bit, 8GByte of RAM and Media Manager Version 1.3.1.25
If this can't be repaired, TwonkyMedia isn't usable for me.

peterfu
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: Austria

Re: DB rebuild

Post by peterfu » Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:33 am

I can't confirm this (Version 5.1.3-dev ) - a server restart simply issues a rescan, but the Database is not rebuild (about 11.000 media files) - running the server on a Thecus N7700 NAS
br
Peter

User avatar
Briain
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:07 pm
AV Hardware: Linn Klimax DS
Linn Majik DS-I
Linn Sneaky DS
WDTV Live Hib
Sonos 80
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: DB rebuild

Post by Briain » Wed Mar 17, 2010 8:25 pm

Hi

Restarting 5.0.68 triggers a rescan of the content directories if the resecan is set to -1 (i.e. set to monitor for changes), but this can be prevented by setting the rescan time to 0.

Irrespective of the rescan setting (mine is always set to 0 anyway) all versions of 5.1.2 and 5.1.3 that I've tried on my ReadyNAS kick off a full database delete and rebuild whenever you restart Twonky. I've also had it confirmed (by other forum users) as happening on other devices (including a Thecus 5200). I've reported this and I'm told that it will hopefully be fixed in the next release.

If you only have a small quantity of media files, it's probably not an issue (it'll all happen very quickly anyway). I now have 25,500 FLAC files and it takes 50 minutes, but as I leave my NAS on all the time, it's not an issue for me either. That said, a surprisingly large quantity of people switch their NAS off when not in use, and if they have anything more than very small media collections, it'll be a total 'show stopper' for them (in my case, it would be 50 minutes before I could play my music) and thus it'll be great when this has been resolved.

Bri

MartinS
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:08 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LinkStation Pro (V2, 3TB [2TB], TMS 6.0.38)
Buffalo LinkStation Pro (V2, 1TB, TMS 6.0.38)
Buffalo LinkStation Live (2TB, TMS 6.0.38)
Cisco Linksys WRT610N (DD-WRT build 18024)
Philips 52PFL9704H
WD HD TV Live (1.6.15)
Philips NP2900
Noxon iRadio
HTC Sensation (CoreDroid 2.7 [Android 2.3.4], TM 2.1.2)
HTC Desire HD (Stock ROM [Android 2.3.3], TM 2.1.2)
Apple iPad2 (64GB, 3G, iOS 5.0.1, TM 2.1.2)

Re: DB rebuild

Post by MartinS » Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:14 pm

Hi,

same here, just upgraded my Buffalo LinkStation Pro (V2) from 4.4.6 - which was running perfectly - to 5.1.3-dev.
Every time I start my LinkStation it completely rebuilds the data base (around 16000 files) which takes approx. 17 minutes.

Additionally I cannot restart the Twonky Server as it leaves a zombie process; even manually killing the processes and starting it from a telnet shell (putty) creates nothing but zombie processes - one every minute. So after every configuration change I have to restart the LinkStation itself.

Cheers,

Martin

Post Reply