TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
mart
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:23 pm
AV Hardware: QNAP TS 419p, QNAP TS 101
FSC Activy media player 150
Twonkymedia 4.4.17 on TS 419p
Twonkymedia 4.4.9 on TS 101

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by mart » Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:59 am

I installed Twonkyserver 6.0.30 on my QNAP 419p. Streaming .avi Files with my Activy Mediaplayer 150 doesn't work! So I'm not realy happy with this update, because I have many .avi Files. If I change under settings the client to DSM 520, I can play the avi-files, but mp3 streming wont work correctly. The Twonky-version 4.4.17 worked well, but the activy mediaplayer has been always indentified as a wrong client (namely DSM 520).
Please fix the bug of avi streaming by activy mediaplayer.

Correzpond
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 2:25 am
AV Hardware: TwonkyMediaSever on Windows 7 PC serving a WDTV Live media player via a Netgear WNDR3700 Router.

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by Correzpond » Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:18 am

Installed 6.0.30 on my DLINK DNS-323 NAS using the modification to starttwonky.sh described here http://forum.dsmg600.info/viewtopic.php?id=3726.

The installation worked inasmuch as I did not encounter the pink-blue light problem which is known to occur with unmodified installations of TMS 6.0 versions caused by TMS filling up the root of the NAS, however performance was much worse than the reliable TMS 4.4.18 demonstrating the following:

1) No internet (radio) feeds (in spite of owning & installed with a full TMS license); this has been the case with all TMS6 versions I have tried.
2) Scanning media sources was slow; much much slower than scanning on TMS4.4.18
3) All media sources (e.g. Video & Music & Photos) were displayed under individual (Video or Music or Photo) selections
4) The Video source would sometimes 'drop-out- leaving only Music or Photos when Video was selected.

I appreciate that some of these issues may related to the DNS-323 firmware (I'm using the latest v1.09) however from my experience v6.0.30 on the DNS323 - like all TMS 6 versions - remains a step backward on the DNS-323 compared to the reliable v4.4.18 which I have reinstalled on my NAS.

PeeBee
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:16 pm
AV Hardware: Buffalo LS Pro; PS3; Samsung LE37B650

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by PeeBee » Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:05 pm

Correzpond wrote:1) No internet (radio) feeds (in spite of owning & installed with a full TMS license); this has been the case with all TMS6 versions I have tried.
See this post - http://twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 361#p33224.
PB
Samsung LE37B650T2WXXU; Liteon 5055GDL+ HDD/DVD Recorder; Playstation 3; Iomega Screenplay HD 500GB; Buffalo Linkstation Pro LS-320GL (running Twonky 6.0.30, SqueezeBox Server 7.6 and acting as a Print Server)

bottkars
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:04 am
AV Hardware: Roku SOundbridge Radio M1001, QNAP TS-410, TS-201, Noxxon iRadio

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by bottkars » Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:19 am

[quote="TMM_Product_Manager"][quote="markmcd"]I hate to sound like a broken record (as I have reported these bugs before), but I'm still having the following issues (just tested with 6.0.30):

- MP4 videos are totally hit and miss on my Samsung BD-C5500 blu-ray player, some work, some don't: http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.ph ... mp4#p32730
- mpeg2 videos don't support FF & RW on the same blu-ray player
- M4A (AAC) playback is still broken on the Roku Soundbridge: http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=8456

Any idea if/when these might get addressed? The Soundbridge bug is particularly annoying, as it used to work just fine in Twonky 5.x.x[/quote]

Not sure. To be honest, I don't know if the engineers were even aware of these issues. The good news is that now they are. Not sure if there is anything that we can do about the 2nd issues because some players don't work we'll with REW/FF. There is a chance we might be able to do something about issue #1, if you provide me with a test file. The shorter the better. If the problem file(s) are too large to send to tmm-beta@pv.com over email, you can upload them to our blind FTP server:

1. On a Windows PC. Open Windows Explorer. You can find it under the Start menu under All Programs/Accessories/Windows Explorer.

2. Paste the following into the Address bar on Windows Explorer: ftp://sftp.pv.com/upload

3.You should see a folder appear under Internet Explorer labeled sftp.pv.

4.If you expand it, you should see another folder labeled “upload”. Copy your problem file into this folder and send a message to tmm-beta@pv.com letting us know what the file is named, along with details about the problems your experiencing.

- Rick[/quote]


any Idea when the M4A issue will be fixed ?

sasko
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:22 pm
AV Hardware: Panasonic TX-P42G20E
Panasonic SC-BT230

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by sasko » Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:58 pm

Hello
I have Panasonic TX-P42G20E TV, I have just 20 days of testing twonky (not bought yet). I noticed that is newer version on your forum and downloaded. With version 6.0.28 worked divx and xvid with srt subtitle fine on my tv (tv supports srt, sub and txt subtitle). Twonky was the only server that was able to send the subtitle on the tv. (YEEE)
With new version 6.0.30 that gone away. What I do it wrong ?? For now I just installed the previus version of twonky server 6.0.28 and works fine. I'm gona buy the server becouse suits for me but just ver.6.0.28. Will be fix for the ver.6.0.30 for the subtitle (srt, sub, txt ) ?
Thanks
Saso

505
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:23 pm
AV Hardware: Sheevaplug with TwonkyMedia server

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by 505 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:38 pm

I posted a separate thread for this problem, but I'll post it here too, to keep all 6.0.30 problems in one thread.
I have a lot of Internet radio feeds. When using the web based file browser, a lot of these feeds give a "Not found" error by the the Twonky Web server.

http://scfire-dtc-aa05.stream.aol.com/stream/1048 <-- doesn't work
http://shoutcast.omroep.nl:8192/ <-- doesn't work
http://mp3.streampower.be/stubru-high <-- for some reason, this one works

For now, I reverted back to 6.0.23. In that build, all radio feeds work without a problem.
Get nice thumbnails in Twonky with tw-video-scraper plugin

umgfoin
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:47 pm
AV Hardware: Philips NP2900, NP2500, XBMC (OS X), Twonky 6.0.30, AVM Fritz!Box 7390

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by umgfoin » Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:30 pm

herr_nilsson wrote:. I checked the 'view-definitions.xml' file in the current version 6.0.30. So far it looks all right (e.g. container 'artistalbum' includes the parameter set sortcriteria='+pv:numberOfThisDisc,+upnp:originalTrackNumber')
Herr Nilsson,
does this concern any of your media tree-branches or just some of them?
Which streaming device do you use?
I noticed that some upnp-clients, namely platinum-framework (xbmc) resort the server provided tree-entries and therefor render the tree-definitions sortorder useless.
umgfoin.

umgfoin
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:47 pm
AV Hardware: Philips NP2900, NP2500, XBMC (OS X), Twonky 6.0.30, AVM Fritz!Box 7390

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by umgfoin » Wed Jan 12, 2011 4:46 pm

TMM_Product_Manager wrote: I'll pass on this info to our engineers.
Just so everyone knows that we are listening to your reports. I wanted to announce that the memory leak reported here was just found and fixed.
- Rick
Rick, thanks for taking part here in the forum.
May I bring two other issues to your engineers' ears - although already reported in the unsupported section, they do concern supported architectures also and for quite a while...

Albumartist-/ band-/ aArt-tags in m4a-files not evaluated.
Albumartist-trees are therefor built incomplete when using M4A.

CLIENTS.DB: Philips NP2900 not detected - NP2500 does

thanks & bg,
umgfoin.

RG1
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:42 am
AV Hardware: Philips Streamium WAC 7500
Philips Streamium WAS 7500
Philips Streamium WAC 6050
Philips Streamium NP 2900

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by RG1 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:10 am

Hi,

there is the new tag/property <upnp:artist role="Composer"> introduced in DIDL-Lite. With this property some renderers show the composer insted of the artist on display. One can check that with cidero for example. Cidero will display the composer in its artist column. This property seems not correct. Other servers use properties like <upnp:artist role="Performer"> or <upnp:artist role="AlbumArtist">.

RG1
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 1:42 am
AV Hardware: Philips Streamium WAC 7500
Philips Streamium WAS 7500
Philips Streamium WAC 6050
Philips Streamium NP 2900

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by RG1 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:17 pm

Hi umgfoin,

for proper detection of your NP 2900 you need to change a line in clients.db in section for WAC7500. (section for NP2900 is correct)
original

Code: Select all

DD:Philips Streamium HiFi Player
new

Code: Select all

DD:WAC7500+albumartwork_320_240_thumbnail_48_48+aac
The original line will force twonky to detect a WAC 7500 insted of your NP 2900.

User avatar
mikle_01
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 11:32 am
Location: Germany, Kiel

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by mikle_01 » Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Sorry...but where ist the playlist feature..It's gone!? My last version on NAs was 4.4.18.
NAS: Synology DS211j 4TB with Twonky 6.0.31 "Kirkwood"- Clients: Philips Streamium NP2500, Sagem "My Dual 700", WD TV Live Gen.2 + Gen.3, - TV:Philips 42PFL8654

johnhewitt
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:30 pm
AV Hardware: Sony Bravia, PS3, WD MWBW

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by johnhewitt » Fri Jan 21, 2011 3:33 pm

Tried this on my WD MyWorldBook White Edition connected to my PS3, and on playback of videos it plays for a few minutes then the video freezes but sound continues, after a minute r two the video catches up and then repeats.

If i roll back to the factory install of 5.1.9 it works fine - any suggestions?

janger
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:54 pm
AV Hardware: WD Mybook World Edition
WD TV Live

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by janger » Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:58 pm

Hello,

Could you let me know if this update is compatible / works with the WD Mybook World Edition NAS drive?

Per WD, their most recent firmware upgrade (1.02.06 -- January 4, 2011) updates TwonkyMedia Server to 5.1.9.

Is there any reason why they didn't upgrade to 6.0.30?

Thanks,

Jaren

cybered
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:14 am
AV Hardware: Buffalo Linkstation and Sony PS3

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by cybered » Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:36 am

Hi,

i found out that every time i restart my linkstation NAS, the whole database of media-content (db, cache) gets cleared and then newly scanned!

Eddie

User avatar
mgillespie
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:19 pm
AV Hardware: TwonkyMedia AV UPnP Mediaserver (Marvell Kirkwood ARM Sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze).
2x Noxon V2 audio client
1x PS3 Slim 500GB Audio/Video UPnP client.
1x Sony VGF-CP1 Wireless Photoframe.
Location: UK

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by mgillespie » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:57 pm

cybered wrote:Hi,

i found out that every time i restart my linkstation NAS, the whole database of media-content (db, cache) gets cleared and then newly scanned!

Eddie

have you seen this? http://www.twonkyforum.com/mediawiki/in ... _On_Reboot
Please note: Moderators here are voluntary and do not work for PacketVideo or Twonky, please do not attack us. Any posts are personal opinion, and may not be those of PV/Twonky.

JoeSammamish
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 5:21 pm
AV Hardware: Western Digital My Book World Edition II (WDH2NC20000N) NAS
Twonky Media server (version 5.1?) came pre-installed on the WD NAS
Denon AVR-3310CI receiver
Windows 7 laptop

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by JoeSammamish » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:33 am

[quote="Eclipse47"]Hi Guys,

Is anyone else having issues with 6.0.30 and viewing full size JPG pictures? Since upgrading my WD MyBook World Edition NAS (wight light) which serves my Samsung UA46C8000 TV, JPG preview thumbnails work but full size doesn't (it just shows the default camera icon when you click on the picture).

Interestingly enough before the upgrade, thumbnails didn't work but full size did. I wonder whats changed to cause the issues? Any help?

Thanks for the great product support too!

Pat[/quote]
I'm having the same problem with my Samsung PN63C590 using my WD MyBook World Edition NAS. Twonky correctly identifies the TV as a Samsung. No problems with my Samsung BD-C6500 Blu Ray player, which is simply identified as a generic media receiver.

I'm also having problems with my Denon AVR-3310CI showing only thumbnail-quality photos. I used to have the same problem with Twonky 5.1, but made the problem go away by adding XM:NOTRPICS to the clients.db file under DENON. Unfortunately, that work around does not seem to work with 6.0.30.

Everything works fine if I roll everything back to 5.1.9.

cybered
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:14 am
AV Hardware: Buffalo Linkstation and Sony PS3

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by cybered » Mon Jan 31, 2011 6:18 pm

[quote="mgillespie"][quote="cybered"]Hi,

i found out that every time i restart my linkstation NAS, the whole database of media-content (db, cache) gets cleared and then newly scanned!

Eddie[/quote]


have you seen this? http://www.twonkyforum.com/mediawiki/in ... _On_Reboot[/quote]


Hi, it doesn't work also - after the restart all medias cleared and it takes a long time to access again.... :(

pauldb38
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:46 pm
AV Hardware: Home server streaming to xbox 360's

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by pauldb38 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:55 pm

I had a previous version i tried but binned it because automatic scanning didnt work so i de-installed it , i was then informed it had been fixed in this version. So i installed it and it says you have 30 days remaining , but when i go to connect to the server it tells me its expired ? I have it installed on WHS.

Also just wondered but you know these USB worldwide tv adapters if i bought one and plugged it up to my whs server would twonky see this ?

Paul

Scoty
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:56 pm
AV Hardware: Grab’n’GO Full HD Media CFULLHDMAi
Contact:

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by Scoty » Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:33 pm

I like TwonkyServer and working fine with my Media Player Cient. I have buy it :-) . Will there be more updates in the future? Not that I have invested in software that is on the no longer worked. I have one problem, i have a very high CPU Usage.
Last edited by Scoty on Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JoeSammamish
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 5:21 pm
AV Hardware: Western Digital My Book World Edition II (WDH2NC20000N) NAS
Twonky Media server (version 5.1?) came pre-installed on the WD NAS
Denon AVR-3310CI receiver
Windows 7 laptop

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by JoeSammamish » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:55 pm

Eclipse47 wrote:Hi Guys,

Is anyone else having issues with 6.0.30 and viewing full size JPG pictures? Since upgrading my WD MyBook World Edition NAS (wight light) which serves my Samsung UA46C8000 TV, JPG preview thumbnails work but full size doesn't (it just shows the default camera icon when you click on the picture).

Interestingly enough before the upgrade, thumbnails didn't work but full size did. I wonder whats changed to cause the issues? Any help?

Thanks for the great product support too!

Pat
I was having the same problems, but I have got it working now. The executable bit was not set on plug-ins or cgi files. Try going to your Twonky directory and running the following command:

chmod 700 twonkym* cgi-bin/* plugins/

That will make a number of files executable and should get you up and running on your Samsung.

Scoty
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:56 pm
AV Hardware: Grab’n’GO Full HD Media CFULLHDMAi
Contact:

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by Scoty » Thu Feb 03, 2011 7:48 pm

I use the Windows Version and have a very high CPU Usage. What can i do?

cybered
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:14 am
AV Hardware: Buffalo Linkstation and Sony PS3

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by cybered » Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:43 pm

Hi,

i found out that all versions (also the original, embedded) from 4.x till now do a rescan after a hardware-reboot!!!
But the 4.x is the fastest and the 6.0.30 the slowest - on my hardware (Linkstation Quad)!

Maybe Twonky will embedd a switch in future versions where that 'feature' can be disabled :?

ronster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:11 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Asus M5A97 / Phenom II X6 1045T
OS: Linux Mint 17.3 64-bit
Twonkyserver 8.2

Media Clients: WDTV Live; PlugPlayer for iOS; Foobar2000 w/UPnP Browser.
Location: Canada

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by ronster » Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:32 pm

mikle_01 wrote:Sorry...but where ist the playlist feature..It's gone!? My last version on NAs was 4.4.18.
My linux version is missing this too. I have to concurrently run 4.4.18 for accessible playlists on my PC. Flash in v6 is "pants".

ronster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:11 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Asus M5A97 / Phenom II X6 1045T
OS: Linux Mint 17.3 64-bit
Twonkyserver 8.2

Media Clients: WDTV Live; PlugPlayer for iOS; Foobar2000 w/UPnP Browser.
Location: Canada

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by ronster » Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:45 pm

505 wrote:I posted a separate thread for this problem, but I'll post it here too, to keep all 6.0.30 problems in one thread.
I have a lot of Internet radio feeds. When using the web based file browser, a lot of these feeds give a "Not found" error by the the Twonky Web server.

http://scfire-dtc-aa05.stream.aol.com/stream/1048 <-- doesn't work
http://shoutcast.omroep.nl:8192/ <-- doesn't work
http://mp3.streampower.be/stubru-high <-- for some reason, this one works

For now, I reverted back to 6.0.23. In that build, all radio feeds work without a problem.

I also have similar issues with internet radio feeds in 6.0.30. I have to use the manual m3u's I set up in 4.4.18 in order to stream anything.

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: TwonkyServer 6.0.30 is Now Available!

Post by Twonky_Rick » Fri Feb 11, 2011 6:01 pm

We're pleased to announce that a new server update is available in the Beta section. Although it's still a Release Candidate, it will probably go final in the next week or two.

You can read about it and download it here:
http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 277#p33998

Because this build replaces 6.0.30, I'm locking this thread so everyone is encouraged to post any issues that were fixed using the link above.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

Locked