Memory Leak?

Everything about the Netgear support, problems, hints...
Post Reply
Timelord
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:42 am

Memory Leak?

Post by Timelord » Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:03 pm

Hi,

Running V4 on a linkstation II (Mips).

The used memory size in the information page keeps on getting bigger. The server has been running for 4 hours and the memory has grown from 2MB to over 13MB and keeps growing. As the LS only has 30MB, things are going to get interesting soon....

Can't remember 3.1 having these problems! I was alway suprised how little memory it used.

Memory
Server type: TwonkyMedia
Server platform: mipsel_341_232
Used memory: 13859 KB
Maximum Memory available for the Server: 30000

JFdB
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:16 pm

Post by JFdB » Thu Sep 07, 2006 10:34 pm

I run 4.01 on an NSLU2.
Memory usage after startup was about 2 or 3 MB.
After 3 days, the memory usage is 15 MB (the maximum amount) and the info page informs me that not all content can be served due to reaching the maximum amount of memory in use.
So I see a similar problem on a different platform

9000 songs

Timelord
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:42 am

memory leak

Post by Timelord » Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:16 pm

Interesting you are experiencing the same problem. I have monitored the memory usage with ps -aux and the image size keeps on growing. Any comments from TwonkyVision? Looks very like a leak to me.

Timelord
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 9:42 am

Post by Timelord » Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:55 am

Get this after a few hours:

Memory
Server type: TwonkyMedia
Server platform: mipsel_341_232
Used memory: 30001 KB
Maximum Memory available for the Server: 30000
The maximum available memory is exceeded. Not all content can be served!

Content
Music Tracks: 1803

Looks like its back to V3.1 until it gets fixed!

TwinTraveller
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:13 pm

Post by TwinTraveller » Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:33 pm

I have exactly the same problem running v4.01 on Maxtor Shared Storage.
Maximum memory (20000 KB) is reached within a day of restarting the server. No automatic rescans.

User avatar
twonky-christian
Lynx Technology Staff
Posts: 1123
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 3:16 pm
AV Hardware: PC
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by twonky-christian » Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:18 pm

try 4.1 now:
http://www.twonkyvision.com/Download/Tw ... index.html

the mem leak *should* be fixed

ht354
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:08 pm

Post by ht354 » Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:06 pm

I'm running 4.3 and I get the "The maximum available memory is exceeded. Not all content can be served!" error. If I re-boot I get the message within 2 minutes.

I have around 79k songs residing on a 500gb drive with 69gb free.

Any ideas
Jeff G potts

Ibby
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:00 am

Post by Ibby » Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:55 pm

Is there already al solution for this problem.

In version 3.1 i used more than 8000kb memory.
And now i have only 5000 availble :twisted:

Can we change te max of memory in twonkymedia?

Ibby
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:00 am

Post by Ibby » Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:46 pm

Ibby wrote:Is there already al solution for this problem.

In version 3.1 i used more than 8000kb memory.
And now i have only 5000 availble :twisted:

Can we change te max of memory in twonkymedia?
OK, I've already found it.
You can change it in the .ini file. You must do it before starting the server for the first time :)

chase
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:27 pm

Post by chase » Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:38 pm

Ibby wrote:Is there already al solution for this problem.

In version 3.1 i used more than 8000kb memory.
And now i have only 5000 availble :twisted:

Can we change te max of memory in twonkymedia?
As it seems, the whole issue is related to the chosen "tree-style" for music, photos and vidz. If you have lots of files and select the extended tree display, the memory shoots sky high.

With my 35k MP3 files there's no way to use the extended style, even the regular style is now up to some 20 MB in size. The ipod style might work as well, the problem though is, that due to the data load everything takes pretty long.

Christian

Post Reply