5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Linux and UNIX specific discussions
Post Reply
papaschtroumpf
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:48 pm

5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by papaschtroumpf » Thu Dec 03, 2009 3:59 am

I just upgraded to 5.1 to see if it wouldsolve another problem and now my server CPU utilization is 99%
It's still scanning/rebuilding the database, but shouldn't it pace itself a little more? my poor little server is overheating.

Is this expected or a bug?

papaschtroumpf
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:48 pm

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by papaschtroumpf » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:18 am

hmmm, updated to 5.1.1 posted today and it looks like it's behaving now

papaschtroumpf
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:48 pm

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by papaschtroumpf » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:20 am

I take it back, a few minutes after the server started, it jumped to 99% CPU

papaschtroumpf
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:48 pm

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by papaschtroumpf » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:39 am

interestingly, disk activity appears to have stopped as soon as the CPU utilization got to 100% but the "last database change" field in the web interface changes every time I refresh, is it "post processing" a cache or something?

papaschtroumpf
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:48 pm

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by papaschtroumpf » Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:33 am

I was monitoring the log file (through tail -f) at the same time the server was starting and it starts normal enough, with in and out messages about scanning directories, then I see dozens of a message which I unfortunately lost when I erased the log file (I reverted to 5.0, 5.1 just doesn't work for me), something like upnp_event_<something>_changed (1) whever the log shows these (many back to back) the CPU utilization jumps to 100%.
At first it does it only a second at a time, ever 10s or so, then eventually it does it more and more until you have a few dozen of those message between each scan message.

It's liek another thread is doing something at 100% utilization so the scanning speed gets down to a crawl and CPU utilization skyrockets.

for now completely deleted /usr/local/twonkymedia and /var/twonkymedia and reinstalled 5.0.

cds
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:06 pm
AV Hardware: openfiler NAS on ATOM
Noxon M520
Noxon IRadio
Philips SLA5520
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by cds » Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:29 pm

Same for me!

As in the RC3 allready in the 5.1.1 final the CPU-load all the sudden is sky-rocketing to 100%.
In addition I can't get the Web-interface to work at all.
I'm back to 5.0.68 which works just flawless .....

I'm running this on an OpenFiler NAS with an Atom330 CPU ....

mikecj
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:25 pm
AV Hardware: roku soundbridge
xbox 360
xbox

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by mikecj » Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:12 pm

Hi All,

First post on the forum

I had the same problem moving from 5.1 to 5.1.1. I stopped the server, removed (backed up) /var/twonkymedia and restarted the server.

After a reconfigure of the settings, and a rescan, my cpu started to behave.

cds
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:06 pm
AV Hardware: openfiler NAS on ATOM
Noxon M520
Noxon IRadio
Philips SLA5520
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by cds » Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:27 pm

That is a reall interesting hint !

Tried it - and - working!
All the issues I had seem to be gone. Too bad Twonky is not adding that to their installation-hints.

THANKS !

User avatar
mgillespie
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:19 pm
AV Hardware: TwonkyMedia AV UPnP Mediaserver (Marvell Kirkwood ARM Sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze).
2x Noxon V2 audio client
1x PS3 Slim 500GB Audio/Video UPnP client.
1x Sony VGF-CP1 Wireless Photoframe.
Location: UK

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by mgillespie » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:59 pm

cds wrote:That is a reall interesting hint !

Tried it - and - working!
All the issues I had seem to be gone. Too bad Twonky is not adding that to their installation-hints.

THANKS !
It's pretty standard when things don't work, delete the settings and start again. It's common troubleshooting for Linux Mac and Windows alike...

It's also very likely the suggestions in this Sticky would have also fixed the problem. (as /var is where the database is stored)

http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3922
Please note: Moderators here are voluntary and do not work for PacketVideo or Twonky, please do not attack us. Any posts are personal opinion, and may not be those of PV/Twonky.

cds
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:06 pm
AV Hardware: openfiler NAS on ATOM
Noxon M520
Noxon IRadio
Philips SLA5520
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 5.1: 99% CPU utilization

Post by cds » Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:06 pm

Well,

i wouldn't really call it 'standard' that you manually have to delete some files/folders to make a SW work - especially if this SW contains functionality to set everything to factory-defaults, recreate the DB and so on.

Post Reply