Twonky stops building index

Other OS or NAS discussions
Post Reply
dlzc
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:27 am
AV Hardware: QNAP TS-419 II, Sony Bravia, Sony Media player SMPN100, Windows 7

Twonky stops building index

Post by dlzc » Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:39 am

I've got 418 movies, in two levels of directories (eg. ./Adventure/Die Hard/... then 4 titles).

But it stops indexing, even skipping titles in /Adventure.

Can I construct / supply the index myself? Or what is the right procedure for setting this up?

All the files are MPEG2. All the files are visible in Windows. Just not with my Sony equipment.

Help?

Twonky 6.0.38... came with the new QNAP...

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Twonky stops building index

Post by Twonky_Rick » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:19 pm

There is no way to manually index. Check the media browser for the server to see if it can see your media files or not. Some devices hide formats/codecs they do not support. That could be what's happening here OR you may have some corrupted video files. If that's the case, you should try to isolate and remove them even though this is a pain. The server is supposed to mark them, but it sounds like may not be happening.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

dlzc
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:27 am
AV Hardware: QNAP TS-419 II, Sony Bravia, Sony Media player SMPN100, Windows 7

Re: Twonky stops building index

Post by dlzc » Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:30 am

[quote="TMM_Product_Manager"]There is no way to manually index. Check the media browser for the server to see if it can see your media files or not. Some devices hide formats/codecs they do not support. That could be what's happening here OR you may have some corrupted video files. If that's the case, you should try to isolate and remove them even though this is a pain. The server is supposed to mark them, but it sounds like may not be happening.

- Rick[/quote]

Thanks Rick,

Video files are there. Windows has no issue, nor Linux, nor the QNAP utilities. Sony (blue-ray player and two media servers) saw them all with Dlink DNS-323, but not with Twonky / QNAP serving.

All files are MPEG2, extension .mpg, and all have played when I had DLink DNS-323 (even if I had to try them more than once to get them to start).

Anything else I can try? Multiple level directories not an issue? How about having too many services turned on, perhaps ones I don't use? I saw a post that said to delete three files, the database and two .ini files.

Rebuilding the database seems to take about 1 minute per file. Is that normal?

[Reinstalled Twonky from scratch, no change in behavior.]

[Sony will display any file that is named .mpg, only refusing to play it once it is selected, if it is not a permitted format.]

[Sony supplies that there are other free media player choices that do work with their equipment, and they all require a non-ARM processor. So unless someone indicates to me that version 7 of Twonky fixes this problem, this QNAP device is going back.]

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Twonky stops building index

Post by Twonky_Rick » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:06 am

Sorry for the delay. Was out of the country earlier in the week.

Thanks for the additional details. I've not heard of problems with too many services before. Most problems occur due to corrupted media files or with users who have massive media collections and underpowered NAS. Of course that's not the case with QNAP.

Rebuilding the database can take minutes because it's doing a lot of things. A minute a file does seem excessive. Normally I'd suggest a reinstall, but I can see you've already done that.

We have a very large number of QNAP and Sony users, so I'm a little surprised that you're seeing these problems. Do you have a Mac or PC, that you can install Twonky on, to see if the same happens with your media files?

Since I don't have any great suggestions for you, you may want to also check the QNAP forum if you haven't already.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

dlzc
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:27 am
AV Hardware: QNAP TS-419 II, Sony Bravia, Sony Media player SMPN100, Windows 7

Re: Twonky stops building index

Post by dlzc » Fri Apr 13, 2012 5:04 pm

[quote="TMM_Product_Manager"]Sorry for the delay. Was out of the country earlier in the week.

Thanks for the additional details. I've not heard of problems with too many services before. Most problems occur due to corrupted media files or with users who have massive media collections and underpowered NAS. Of course that's not the case with QNAP.

Rebuilding the database can take minutes because it's doing a lot of things. A minute a file does seem excessive. Normally I'd suggest a reinstall, but I can see you've already done that.

We have a very large number of QNAP and Sony users, so I'm a little surprised that you're seeing these problems. Do you have a Mac or PC, that you can install Twonky on, to see if the same happens with your media files?

Since I don't have any great suggestions for you, you may want to also check the QNAP forum if you haven't already.

- Rick[/quote]

QNAP threw me here.
QUOTE
[twonky] media is a 3rd party software.

Qnap doesn't [support] it.

therefore, for the time being, you might want to refer to the [twonky] media forum for possible solution.
END QUOTE
... and note that Qnap ports it to their Marvell processor, and supplies the "approved" installation means onto their devices.

The highest end "personal" QNAP uses a Marvell processor. Marvell indicates they have only ever sold an ARM5 processor to QNAP. So that makes me think when they ported Twonky to an ARM5 (the delay in getting Twonky v7 when it is already available for ARM9 and up), they put an artificial limit of, say 255 files total. Which would produce my symptoms pretty well.

I thank you for your help, especially that others are not seeing these problems with QNAP. I am in the process of returning this one, and I will get a QNAP with a dual core Intel Atom in it (one of the PRO versions, probably 459), which will give me choices I do not have with the unit I have now. Once the credit card recovers...

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Twonky stops building index

Post by Twonky_Rick » Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:42 pm

Please let us know if the new QNAP works any better than the old one.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

Post Reply