QNAP TS119p+ Remote Twonky Issue

Other OS or NAS discussions
Post Reply
magellan498
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:46 am
AV Hardware: QNAP TS119p+

QNAP TS119p+ Remote Twonky Issue

Post by magellan498 » Tue May 01, 2012 6:03 pm

Hey guys, I'm running a QNAP TS119p+ with Twonky 6.0.34 installed. I've edited the .ini file to allow for remote access and that's working just fine. However, I'm running into an issue where I have to enter my credentials every time a new song tries to play off a playlist when connecting remotely. Did I miss a setting in the .ini file? Is there a way to fix this? Thanks for any assistance!!

magellan498
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:46 am
AV Hardware: QNAP TS119p+

Re: QNAP TS119p+ Remote Twonky Issue

Post by magellan498 » Fri May 25, 2012 5:11 am

Just noticed something peculiar about this issue. It's not present when playing .mp3 files. The majority of my library is .wma files which seem to be the ones Twonky doesn't like for some reason. Any ideas? Permissions possibly?

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: QNAP TS119p+ Remote Twonky Issue

Post by Twonky_Rick » Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:23 am

Here are some comments from one of our engineers.
My guess is that the mp3 and the wma playback engines that the customer is using have different http modules to fetch the data. The one for mp3 is reusing the session when fetching new songs, the other one (wma) is creating a new http session every time new song is played.
I don't think there is much we can do about this in TS 6.0.x, but we are currently working on improved remote access support for TS 7.1 (which is a free upgrade) and this may be something we could look into as part of that release.

Could you please provide us with some more details about your setup? For example, could we get the .ini file and info about which client you are using for media for playback?

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

magellan498
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:46 am
AV Hardware: QNAP TS119p+

Re: QNAP TS119p+ Remote Twonky Issue

Post by magellan498 » Fri Jun 01, 2012 8:59 pm

I'd be more than happy to provide any details about my setup that might help. If you want to PM me an email address and some more detail about what you would like, I can get that information to you. Thanks for your assistance.

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: QNAP TS119p+ Remote Twonky Issue

Post by Twonky_Rick » Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:14 am

Sorry it took so long to respond. Just sent you a PM with my e-mail. Please include a link to this thread in the e-mail.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

Post Reply