Twonky on Synology 106e

Other OS or NAS discussions
Post Reply
ht354
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:08 pm

Twonky on Synology 106e

Post by ht354 » Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:08 pm

I'm no technical genius, but I'm competant to carry out anything that is laid out properly. I'm a newbie.

I own a Synology 106e unit with a Hitachi 500gb drive installed. I understand that I can download and install my license for Twonky media server onto my Synology NAS unit.

I have looked at the install package from the download area here, but It seems vague and keeps referencing a Linux Telenet application. I understand that the Synology unit may run a version of Linux, but I run XP.

Does anyone have experience with this type of installation, or any pointers to help me along.

tHANKS
Jeff
Jeff G potts

sbv3000
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:25 pm

Post by sbv3000 » Tue Mar 13, 2007 2:55 pm

The Twonky NAS setup for the diskstation should take care of the install for you, you just need to make sure you have set and know the admin password. Just follow the instructions in the readme.

btw, have you tried the inbuilt upnp server on the diskstation? Its not as good as Twonky but might be enough for your requirments :)

ht354
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:08 pm

Post by ht354 » Thu May 10, 2007 4:36 pm

I have tried the install for the Synology NAS but I keep getting an error about the wrong IP address and telnet.

Any ideas? Both units have the latest firmware upgrades

Jeff
Jeff G potts

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Thu May 17, 2007 8:05 pm

Hi Jeff,

There is a patch available to enable Telnet on the Synology. Try a search in this forum to find the appropriate link. It helped me installing Twonky on my DS 101j so it might also work for you.

If the Telnet patch is applied, you will probably have no more IP address issues as well.

Hope this helps (somewhat :wink:)

Greetz,

J@n
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

Kos
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Frederiksberg, Denmark

Post by Kos » Fri May 18, 2007 9:35 am

Setup: D-link635/Linksys(wifi), PhilipsSLA5520/Noxon iRadio, Sonos ZP90+ZP120+S5+CR200, iPod Touch & iPad2, Twonky6.0.30(server), MaxtorSS+/Qnap TS-109+112 (NAS'es), MediaMonkey 4(media manager)

ht354
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 6:08 pm

Post by ht354 » Mon Jun 18, 2007 9:04 pm

I am still trying to get Twonky running on my Synology 106e box.

I have installed the Telnet patch as directed, and enabling the telnet service. I then rebooted the box and followed the instructions from the download package for the Synology 106e.

When I try to access "http://192.168.0.15:9000/configpage/index.html" I get a page not found error even though the installation adds a link for "http://192.168.0.15:9000" on the main login page.

Has anyone suceeded at this, or are their things you recommend that I can try?

Jeff
Jeff G potts

daco
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:34 pm

Post by daco » Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:36 pm

hi, same problem for me
Image

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:48 pm

Well let's see. If I remember correctly Twonky did not automatically start after installing. I had to open a Telnet session and CD to the folder /volume1/public/twonkyvision. At that point I had to execute the command ./twonkymedia (mind you it is case sensitive). After that Twonky was up and running.

I think this might work.

J@n
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

daco
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:34 pm

Post by daco » Fri Jun 29, 2007 6:05 pm

but i haven't /volume1/public/twonkyvision

daco
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:34 pm

Post by daco » Fri Jun 29, 2007 6:20 pm

i think nasinstaller has a problem

daco
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:34 pm

Post by daco » Fri Jun 29, 2007 6:24 pm

i found problem, name in user is "root" not "admin"

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Fri Jun 29, 2007 6:31 pm

Houston, we have a problem!

So if you Telnet the DS what is folders are displayed? You can use

Code: Select all

ls -d
to display the directories on the volume. You will probably start in the root (I am not sure) and will see a number of directories. If not try

Code: Select all

cd /
, do

Code: Select all

ls -d
again and see what you will get. Let me know.

Greetz,

J@n

[Oops, too late with my answer :oops: ]
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

asmatt
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 pm

Post by asmatt » Sun Jul 08, 2007 10:24 pm

hi,

Any news how to solve the problem?

thanks

;)

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:09 pm

asmatt wrote:Any news how to solve the problem?
Hi Asmatt,

If the tips above did not solve your problem it might be a good idea to describe your problem and what you've done so far. I am no Linux Wizz :oops: but I am sure others can help if I can't :D

Greetz,

J@n
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

schneiderch
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:34 am

Post by schneiderch » Sun Jul 15, 2007 7:01 am

Hello,

i have the samw problem with a synology DS106j.
I installed the software, but i can´t reach the config-page.
Please Help.

asmatt
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 pm

Post by asmatt » Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:52 pm

hi again,

I have now installed TWONKY without any error.
Login was 'root' and not 'admin' as I believed and same password as my admin account.

but I can't get the config page as others.

with: http://1xx.1xx.x.xx:9000/configpage/index.html

thanks for your help

;)

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:31 pm

OK. So install went OK but now what!?

Have you made sure that Twonky is running? Can you open a telnet session and try the command PS to see if in the list Twonky is represented? If you see any reference to Twonky the server is running.

If that's the case, view the file "Twonkymediaserver.ini". Find the entry that states what's the default port and see if that's 9000. I might be on the wrong track though. It might also have something to do with your client you use to access the config page???

By the way, I access the config page(s) by simply typing http://servername:9000. Tried that?

Greetz,

J@n
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

asmatt
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 pm

Post by asmatt » Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:10 am

Hi,

The trouble is that I don't know UNIX commands. :oops:

Thanks

;)

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:57 am

Hi Asmatt,

Neither do I :shock: But if you execute the commands I gave in my previous post, you should be able to draw some conclusions. Give it a try and see what happens :wink:

Greetz,

J@n
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

asmatt
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 pm

Post by asmatt » Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:35 pm

Hi J@n,

So I tried the <PS> command, there is no Twonky process running :?


Is it possible to run it manually?

Thanks for your help ;

PID Uid VmSize Stat Command
1 root SW init
2 root SW [keventd]
3 root SWN [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
4 root SW [kswapd]
5 root SW [bdflush]
6 root SW [kupdated]
7 root SW [kinoded]
8 root SW [mtdblockd]
108 root SW [kjournald]
203 root SW [khubd]
256 root 44 S /sbin/syslogd -S
258 root SW /sbin/klogd
279 root 164 S < /usr/syno/bin/findhostd
303 root SW [kjournald]
349 root 148 S /usr/syno/sbin/hotplugd
366 root 140 S /usr/sbin/inetd
374 root 160 S /usr/sbin/crond
404 admin 56 S /usr/syno/pgsql/bin/postmaster -D /volume1/@database/
407 admin 4796 S postgres: writer process
408 admin 460 S postgres: stats buffer process
409 admin 452 S postgres: stats collector process
476 root 424 S /usr/syno/sbin/scheduler
480 admin 2796 S postgres: admin download 127.0.0.1(1024) idle
490 root 164 S lpd Waiting
497 root 1324 S N /usr/syno/sbin/synoindexd
504 root 124 S N /usr/syno/bin/synomkthumbd
536 root 372 S /usr/syno/bin/scemd
571 root SW /sbin/getty 115200 console
656 root 216 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd -f /usr/syno/apache/conf/h
704 root 184 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd -f /usr/syno/apache/conf/h
705 root 244 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd
756 root 208 S /usr/syno/sbin/ftpd -D
763 admin 236 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd
770 root 184 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd -f /usr/syno/apache/conf/h
781 root 180 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd -f /usr/syno/apache/conf/h
785 root 180 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd -f /usr/syno/apache/conf/h
802 root 184 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd -f /usr/syno/apache/conf/h
813 admin 8560 S postgres: admin mediaserver 127.0.0.1(1041) idle
1002 admin 216 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd
1006 admin 216 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd
1009 admin 212 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd
1010 admin 216 S /usr/syno/apache/bin/httpd
1014 root 264 S /usr/syno/sbin/smbd -D
1016 root 264 S /usr/syno/sbin/smbd -D
1021 root 576 S /usr/syno/sbin/nmbd -D
1067 root 19292 R rtorrent -t 3 -u admin -f -m
1068 admin 2188 S postgres: admin download 127.0.0.1(1104) idle
1343 root 192 S telnetd
1344 root 368 S -ash
1347 root 736 R ps

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:44 pm

Hi Asmatt,

Oops, that's not a good sign. Let's see if you can get up and running.

So the next sequence of commands is based on my Synology DS101j. It could be there are differences with your DS (the volume1 could be different) :shock:

What I do is this:

Code: Select all

cd /
cd /volume1/public/twonkyvision (that's where I installed Twonky)
./twonkymedia (that should get it starting)
You should get confirmation of the fact that Twonkymedia has started (including version number)

To verify that Twonkymedia is running you can try the PS command again and see if Twonky is present.

If not.....we should call the help of some real Linux Guru :wink:

Let me know

Greetz,

J@n
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

asmatt
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 7:30 pm

Post by asmatt » Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:04 am

Hi,

Here under, what I have exactly typed:

DiskStation107> cd /volume1/public/twonkyvision
DiskStation107> dir
drwxrwxrwx 5 1026 users 4096 Jul 19 18:31 .
drwxrwxrwx 4 root root 4096 Jul 24 23:47 ..
drwxrwxrwx 2 admin users 4096 Jul 19 18:31 cgi-bin
drwxrwxrwx 2 admin users 4096 Jul 19 18:31 plugins
drwxrwxrwx 2 admin users 4096 Jul 19 18:31 resources
-rwxrwxrwx 1 admin users 4800 Jun 22 19:01 twonkymedia
-rwxrwxrwx 1 admin users 154 Jul 15 22:39 twonkymedia-default.ini
-rwxrwxrwx 1 admin users 385360 Jun 22 19:01 twonkymediaserver
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 154 Jul 19 18:31 twonkyvision-mediaserver.ini
DiskStation107> ./twonkymedia
./twonkymedia: ./twonkymedia: 1: Syntax error: word unexpected (expecting ")")

but when I type ./twonkymedia, I get an error "word unexpected..."


Are you sure I have to type this command?

Thanks ;)

J@n
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:22 pm

Post by J@n » Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:08 pm

Hmpf, that's strange. :?

I would have expected more files to show up. This is what I get when I do exactly what you do (apart from the fact that I use LS and not dir :wink: )
  • DS101j> cd /volume1/public/twonkyvision
    DS101j> ls -l
    drwxrwxrwx 5 root users 4096 Jun 29 18:31 TwonkyMedia-Downloads
    drwxrwxrwx 2 Jan users 4096 Jul 1 15:48 cgi-bin
    drwxrwxrwx 2 Jan users 4096 Jul 1 15:48 plugins
    drwxrwxrwx 2 Jan users 4096 Jul 1 15:48 resources
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 Jan users 4404 Jun 22 18:59 twonkymedia
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 Jan users 154 Feb 9 06:21 twonkymedia-default.ini
    drwxr-xr-x 4 admin users 4096 Jul 25 06:39 twonkymedia.db
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 Jan users 390524 Jun 22 19:01 twonkymediaserver
    -rw-r--r-- 1 admin users 21 Jul 7 18:52 twonkymediaserver-log.txt
    -rw-r--r-- 1 admin users 201 Jul 25 06:30 twonkyvision-config.html
    -rw-r--r-- 1 admin users 209 Jul 25 06:30 twonkyvision-config1.html
    -rw-r--r-- 1 admin users 6000 Jul 25 06:30 twonkyvision-mediaserver.ini
    DS101j>
I am not sure what has happened but it seems that some files were not copied during install. You might try the following (by lack of a better solution): you can extract the missing files from the archive and copy them to the proper destination and change the rights to the file.

After you copied the files, try the ./twonkymedia again. If that does not help try this:

cd to the folder /volume1/public/twonkyvision and type

Code: Select all

chmod 777 *
Although a real Linux expert might find this horrifying,I sometimes use it to get things working :oops:

I use this only if I know that no one else can access the device. It is not a really nice solutions but it has saved my but a few times.

Maybe if we can't work this out you should submit a support request with Twonky?

Hope this helps

Greetz,

J@n
Software: TwonkyMedia (upgraded)
Streaming: Synology DS101j (320 GB) for Music and Pictures (hardly); Synology DS106e (500 GB) for Video using Wizd (sorry...only can afford one license TM) Player: Netgear EVA-700 (The SL50i has died)

Post Reply