TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Other OS or NAS discussions
Post Reply
gribbley
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:22 pm
AV Hardware: Linkstation Quad

TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Post by gribbley » Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:32 pm

Hi there,

I'm trying to upgrade the version of TMS on my Linkstation Quad from 4 to 5.1.2 and I've not met with any success after trying several of the NAS builds. I'm wondering whether anyone else has fared any better or if anyone has any advice.

I've tried the Linkstation Pro and Live builds and in both cases, the twonkymedia binary runs but seems to terminate with an Illegal Instruction error after a short while or after a web request on port 9000, I've also tried several of the vanilla ARM builds, none of which will execute on the box.

In case it helps, here's some config data from the box:

Code: Select all

 uname -a
Linux NASHER 2.6.22.7 #1 Thu Jun 18 21:48:29 JST 2009 armv5tejl unknown

Code: Select all

 /lib/libc.so.6
GNU C Library stable release version 2.5, by Roland McGrath et al.
Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.
There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
Compiled by GNU CC version 4.2.0 20070413 (prerelease).
Compiled on a Linux >>2.6.17-12-generic<< system on 2007-10-15.
Available extensions:
        crypt add-on version 2.1 by Michael Glad and others
        GNU Libidn by Simon Josefsson
        GNU libio by Per Bothner
        NIS(YP)/NIS+ NSS modules 0.19 by Thorsten Kukuk
        Native POSIX Threads Library by Ulrich Drepper et al
        Support for some architectures added on, not maintained in glibc core.
        BIND-8.2.3-T5B
Thread-local storage support included.

Code: Select all

 cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : ARM926EJ-S rev 0 (v5l)
BogoMIPS        : 266.24
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult edsp
CPU implementer : 0x41
CPU architecture: 5TEJ
CPU variant     : 0x0
CPU part        : 0x926
CPU revision    : 0
Cache type      : write-back
Cache clean     : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown  : format C
Cache format    : Harvard
I size          : 32768
I assoc         : 1
I line length   : 32
I sets          : 1024
D size          : 32768
D assoc         : 1
D line length   : 32
D sets          : 1024

Hardware        : Feroceon
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000

Jambaleia
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:58 pm
AV Hardware: Samsung LED 46" TV, PS3, Popcorn Hour A110

Re: TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Post by Jambaleia » Sat Jan 16, 2010 8:08 pm

Hi is there a solution for this problem? I would also like to upgrade to 5.1.2 because than I can use my Samsung TV and Pause is supported ;)

ANy help would be GREAT

Jamba

User avatar
mgillespie
Posts: 1222
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:19 pm
AV Hardware: TwonkyMedia AV UPnP Mediaserver (Marvell Kirkwood ARM Sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze).
2x Noxon V2 audio client
1x PS3 Slim 500GB Audio/Video UPnP client.
1x Sony VGF-CP1 Wireless Photoframe.
Location: UK

Re: TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Post by mgillespie » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:18 pm

Have you tried the Kirkwood build? It's designed for devices using the Feroceon chip..

I run it on Sheevaplug running Debian, and it shows the following:

Code: Select all

sheeva:~# /lib/libc.so.6
GNU C Library (EGLIBC) stable release version 2.10.2, by Roland McGrath et al.
Copyright (C) 2009 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.
There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
Compiled by GNU CC version 4.4.2.
Compiled on a Linux >>2.6.26-2-iop32x<< system on 2010-01-02.
Available extensions:
        crypt add-on version 2.1 by Michael Glad and others
        GNU Libidn by Simon Josefsson
        Native POSIX Threads Library by Ulrich Drepper et al
        Support for some architectures added on, not maintained in glibc core.
        BIND-8.2.3-T5B
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.eglibc.org/issues/>.

Code: Select all

sheeva:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor       : Feroceon 88FR131 rev 1 (v5l)
BogoMIPS        : 1192.75
Features        : swp half thumb fastmult edsp
CPU implementer : 0x56
CPU architecture: 5TE
CPU variant     : 0x2
CPU part        : 0x131
CPU revision    : 1

Hardware        : Marvell SheevaPlug Reference Board
Revision        : 0000
Serial          : 0000000000000000

Please note: Moderators here are voluntary and do not work for PacketVideo or Twonky, please do not attack us. Any posts are personal opinion, and may not be those of PV/Twonky.

Jambaleia
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:58 pm
AV Hardware: Samsung LED 46" TV, PS3, Popcorn Hour A110

Re: TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Post by Jambaleia » Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:59 pm

Is there any feedback on this topic?
I am still running TMS 4 something on the LS Quad!

The 5.1.2 would be great ;)

andreground
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:14 pm
AV Hardware: SamsungTV
Iomega StorCenter IX4-200D
Buffalo TeraStation Pro v2
Noxon iRadio
Sony PS3

Re: TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Post by andreground » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:20 pm

mgillespie wrote:Have you tried the Kirkwood build? It's designed for devices using the Feroceon chip..
Thank you mgillespie! That did the trick on my Iomega StorCenter ix4-200d (that uses Feroceon)!

:D

gribbley
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:22 pm
AV Hardware: Linkstation Quad

Re: TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Post by gribbley » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:13 pm

Unfortunately not much use for the Linkstation Quad, as it doesn't. I think it's just a case of persuading the developers that it'd be nice if they did an appropriate build for the target CPU/gblic combo, but I've no idea how receptive they are to such requests.

ondrovic
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:14 pm
AV Hardware: Sony Bravia KDL46XBR
Sony PS3
Logitech Revue
Netgear Digital Entertainer Live

Re: TMS 5.1.2 on Linkstation Quad

Post by ondrovic » Wed Mar 02, 2011 3:52 pm

I successfully update my version of Twonky from 4.4.18 to 6.3.0 using this version http://www.twonkyforum.com/downloads/6. ... 6.0.30.zip I had to edit some of the files to make it work correctly though. Which means I had to enable telnet access to the device

Post Reply