How to create your own Internet radio station list

General discussion about the media server. Feature requests. Hints, tips and tricks.
Locked
Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Twonky_Rick » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:16 pm

How to create your own Internet radio station list

If you're running TwonkyServer 6.0 or later on a PC and you want to add your own radio station manually you need to create a wpl playlist file (WMP can do this for you) and place the correct URL pointing to the radio station in the file (instead of a local file name).

I suspect this will also work on Mac and Linux PCs, but haven't tried it.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

rocko
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:58 am
AV Hardware: WAS7000

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by rocko » Thu Sep 30, 2010 12:22 pm

HI,

what means it? That twonkyserver support only WPL-Playlists?

If not, then please, see my post: http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 827#p31827.

If yes, then :cry:.
'cause, if you define a wpl file with a number of station, you will see on your device only the URLs, so you can't specify the stations. :(

User avatar
Briain
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:07 pm
AV Hardware: Linn Klimax DS
Linn Majik DS-I
Linn Sneaky DS
WDTV Live Hib
Sonos 80
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Briain » Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:32 pm

Hi Rick

I don't use internet radio, but it would be very useful to see an example of the format that does work for internet radio playlists, as many, many people (on other forums like the Linn and Qnap ones) have PM'd me to ask why they can't see the m3u ones they've been using with Twonky 4 (and what they can to about it for Twonky 5 and/or Twonky 6). If nobody here posts an example in the next few days, could you please ask someone at PV to post a sample playlist (for TMS 6) pointing to two radio stations; that would really help clear this issue up?

Kind regards
Bri

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Twonky_Rick » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:44 pm

I'll ask for an example and post it here when I get it. Christian thinks that M3U should work -- although WPL is better because it supports special characters better.

- Rick
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

User avatar
Briain
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:07 pm
AV Hardware: Linn Klimax DS
Linn Majik DS-I
Linn Sneaky DS
WDTV Live Hib
Sonos 80
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Briain » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:05 pm

Hi Rick

Someone sent me an M3U and it didn't work with 6.0.1, but I just can't remember if I tried it with 6.0.23 (I'm pretty sure that I did and it didn't work); I'll dig through my emails and try to find it tomorrow, try it again, then report back.

Kind regards
Bri

Georg
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:13 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Linkstation Pro (production) with Twonky 6.0.1 +
Linkstation Pro (developer) with Twonky 6.0.23
Clients:
Kathrein UFS 822 (pvr sat receiver, upnp-client?)
Philips TV PFL9604
WD TV Live
Roku Linkstation
Philips WLAN photo frame

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Georg » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:34 pm

From the other thread about slideshows I can provide an example for a wpl-file. I started with a wpl file generated by MS media player and then simply added links to images picked from picasa-webalbumbs, twonkymedia and packetvideo. From a technical point the field ItemCount should be "8", not "2" but that doesn't seem to hurt tmm 6.0.1. ;)
For mp3 you'd simply have to exchange the src="..." fields by the filename, I'd expect that you can also point to an mp3-stream.

Code: Select all

<?wpl version="1.0"?>
<smil>
    <head>
        <meta name="Generator" content="Microsoft Windows Media Player -- 11.0.6000.6344"/>
        <meta name="AverageRating" content="5"/>
        <meta name="TotalDuration" content="2964"/>
        <meta name="ItemCount" content="2"/>
        <title>* Test *</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <seq>
            <media src="http://lh3.ggpht.com/_92i6f_FYxc8/TJjPYTVFFDI/AAAAAAAAA5Y/tIP3VYi9CQI/s800/DSC_7976.jpg"/>
            <media src="http://lh5.ggpht.com/_92i6f_FYxc8/TJjPYuuWeeI/AAAAAAAAA4g/rgeGm7XrzTg/s800/DSC_8006.jpg"/>
            <media src="http://www.twonky.com/images/header_twonkyserver.jpg"/>
            <media src="http://www.twonky.com/images/sidebar_about.jpg"/>
            <media src="http://www.packetvideo.com/images/content/management/James-Brailean.gif"/>
            <media src="http://www.packetvideo.com/images/content/management/Osama-Alshaykh.gif"/>
            <media src="http://www.packetvideo.com/images/content/PV-Customer-Map.jpg"/>
            <media src="http://www.twonky.com/images/sidebar_products.jpg"/>
       </seq>
    </body>
</smil>
Details about the format can be found at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 85%29.aspx
Cheers,
Georg

Twonky_Rick
Posts: 3816
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:59 am
AV Hardware: Samsung 650 Series TV (2010), 4.5TB HP MediaSmart server with 100,000 songs, 5) AT&T U-Verse STB, CE form-factor Media Center PC and 6 other networked PCs running TwonkyManager, 2 Sonos ZP80, Sonos S5 speaker, Apple TV (running XBMC), Roku Soundbridge, X-Box 360, Sony PS3, Kodak 10" Wireless Photo Frame, iPhone with PlugPlayer software, Sonos CR-100.
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Twonky_Rick » Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:32 pm

Thanks Georg! That's a great example. Although your example, is better than mine, I'll post to info I received as well. I'm attaching a sample WPL playlist and an same M3U playlist.

e.g. shoutcast.wpl:

<?wpl version="1.0"?>
<smil>
<head>
<meta name="Type" content="M"/>
<title>some shoutcast channels</title>
</head>
<body>
<seq>
<media src="http://yp.shoutcast.com/sbin/tunein-sta ... s?id=20594" title="Radio ZU Live"/>
<media src="http://yp.shoutcast.com/sbin/tunein-station.pls?id=816" title="Joy Turk"/>
<media src="http://yp.shoutcast.com/sbin/tunein-sta ... id=1278832" title="Mostly Classical - S K Y . F M"/>
</seq>
</body>
</smil>
Attachments
Sample playlists.zip
(672 Bytes) Downloaded 355 times
Follow me on Twitter! mostlytech1
Checkout my blog: http://mostly-tech.com/

Georg
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:13 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Linkstation Pro (production) with Twonky 6.0.1 +
Linkstation Pro (developer) with Twonky 6.0.23
Clients:
Kathrein UFS 822 (pvr sat receiver, upnp-client?)
Philips TV PFL9604
WD TV Live
Roku Linkstation
Philips WLAN photo frame

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Georg » Sat Oct 02, 2010 9:54 am

Rick, I like your example better than mine especially your hint <meta name="Type" content="M"/>. If we now change that to "P" we have a slideshow!

Georg

User avatar
Briain
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:07 pm
AV Hardware: Linn Klimax DS
Linn Majik DS-I
Linn Sneaky DS
WDTV Live Hib
Sonos 80
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Briain » Sun Oct 03, 2010 12:50 pm

Hi Rick

The M3U one they have sent you is actually the example one that is embedded within some Twonky packages (I have that one already). I tried it out again this morning, and though 6.0.23 correctly shows the playlist as 'Radio' and does indeed show a few station names; they successfully load to the playlist but cannot be found by the renderer. The titles do appear on the media renderer, but it shows as 'searching' continuously; I wonder if these are simply out of date entries (i.e. the stations no longer operate)? Sorry, I don't use internet radio and am thus not that familiar with it; however, the answer would be useful for others. If we can find a 'known good' station for the example (assuming these are not) that would help prove this one way or the other. :)

Update: Just noticed that it also makes a slight mess of my Shoutcast 'container' in that it repeats certain genre containers within other genre containers. By that, an example would be opening the 'Reggae' container you'd see all the reggae stations - as expected - but also see a blues container; not a hassle, just interesting that it happens. The blues container is still in the main list - so it's not a big issue - it's just that it is shown again within another container. This happens inside other containers too (not always showing 'Blues', but showing another random container, or sometimes two others).

Hope that helps.

Kind regards
Bri

Incidentally, the above is with 6.0.23 (and Shoutast/HandPicked are okay) and when trying the sample playlist on 5.1.5, the playlist appears but the stations don't show at all.

Georg
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:13 pm
AV Hardware: Server: Linkstation Pro (production) with Twonky 6.0.1 +
Linkstation Pro (developer) with Twonky 6.0.23
Clients:
Kathrein UFS 822 (pvr sat receiver, upnp-client?)
Philips TV PFL9604
WD TV Live
Roku Linkstation
Philips WLAN photo frame

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by Georg » Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:26 am

I tried the playlist below with various radio stations. If I register these links in the linkstation as presets they are all working. In this case the linkstation accesses the radio streams directly without using twonky. I selected the links on purpose to have different link types, so I'd see if this has any effect...

*) Webbrowse shows 3 entries: NDR, Hit Radio Antenne Bremen, WDR 2
*) Flash browser shows 5 entries: NDR, FFN, Hit Radio Antenne Bremen, WDR 2, BBC 7
*) Linkstation: stalls with the message "loading 3 of 6 entries"
*) WD TV Live: says that there are no media in this entry
*) Philips TV: displays three entries, the first two are marked with a cross (disabled), the third one (WDR?) won't play.

I'd say the test was a full success. ;) Certainly not that what I hoped, but that one might expect: The stream type has a tremendous effect.
It's a pity that none of the dedicated clients would be able to play any of the stations. Maybe it would be possible to improve one case or the other by adjusting the transcode options (TR) for the clients in clients.db. Another approach would be changing the order of the entries or eliminating "problematic" ones.

Bye,
Georg

Code: Select all

<?wpl version="1.0"?>
<smil>
    <head>
        <meta name="ItemCount" content="6"/>
        <meta name="Type" content="M"/
        <title>* sample WPL playlist</title>
    </head>
    <body>
        <seq>
            <media src="http://ndr.ic.llnwd.net/stream/ndr_ndr2_hi_mp3" title="NDR2" />
            <media src="http://player.ffn.de/tunein_ffn.pls" title="FFN"/>
            <media src="http://lsd.newmedia.nacamar.net/bb/redirect.lsc?stream=stbantennebremen$livestream.mp3&content=live&media=mp3" title="Hit Radio Antenne"/>
            <media src="http://www.wdr.de/wdrlive/media/wdr2.m3u" title="WDR 2"/>
            <media src="http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbc7/realplayer/bbc7.asx" title="BBC Radio 7"/>
            <media src="mms://gcssrv.pkf.speednet.at/WSX/oe3_live" title="OE3"/>
        </seq>
    </body>
</smil>

eric90066
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:41 pm
AV Hardware: Windows 7

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by eric90066 » Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:44 am

I have a dns 323 and creating my own playlist is an excellent way to get some of my favorite shoutcast stations to effortlessly play throughout the house.

One problem I found is, when I stop listening to a station, I am not disconnected from Shoutcast. I still see a lot of activity on both my router and my NAS. And according to the dlnk admin panel, my temps start to skyrocket (probably because I start doing other things with the NAS while its still streaming music).

Anyone else experience this?

Eric

eric90066
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 9:41 pm
AV Hardware: Windows 7

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by eric90066 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:21 am

eric90066 wrote:I have a dns 323 and creating my own playlist is an excellent way to get some of my favorite shoutcast stations to effortlessly play throughout the house.

One problem I found is, when I stop listening to a station, I am not disconnected from Shoutcast. I still see a lot of activity on both my router and my NAS. And according to the dlnk admin panel, my temps start to skyrocket (probably because I start doing other things with the NAS while its still streaming music).

Anyone else experience this?

Eric
After some experimenting it looks like the issue is related to the new flash browser. I was unable to replicate the problem in the standard html.

cds
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 12:06 pm
AV Hardware: openfiler NAS on ATOM
Noxon M520
Noxon IRadio
Philips SLA5520
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: How to create your own Internet radio station list

Post by cds » Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:24 am

I would agree: Playlists seem screwed up, even in 6.0.28 .

I first tried m3u: Of the 11 entries only 4 are displayed in my philips client. Trying to scroll down the client stalls. But at least these 4 are playing.
Putting the exact same into an wpl displays all the entries, all play through the html-interface, none through flash and none on the mm-client 'Illegal fileformat'.

Strange things are going on there ....

Would be really good if this can be fixed.

CS

Locked